Subject Guides
Physical Therapy
HS & ES Librarian
Neyda Gilman
Contact:
Neyda is currently on Sabbatical. Please reach out to the Research Help Desk for assistance
Literature Reviews
The term Literature Review is sometimes used to refer to a variety of types of reviews. In 2009 a nursing librarian examined and described the 14 most common types of reviews. You can read her "A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies" article here.
"Literature Reviews for Education and Nursing Graduate Students" is a recent (2017, updated 2019) book on literature reviews has been published and is available as a free open education resource. While the book is focused on nursing graduate students, it is broken down into easy to navigate parts and would be beneficial for anyone interested in learning more about literature reviews.
North Carolina State University Libraries put together a video tutorial covering literature reviews. If you have a literature review project coming up the below video may help (you can also view it here). The contact information for the Nursing Librarian is on the left of this page - she is also available to help!
Article / Research Critiques
Article critiques are a way for you to evaluate and assess a piece of literature. It is important to critique articles for a couple reasons. First, not all articles are written on well done research study and methods. Although there are no "perfect" studies or articles, you want to make sure the research you are using is as bias-free and scientifically valid as possible. Second, you want to make sure that the research you are looking at is applicable to your particular information need - is it relevant to your patient(s) and situation?
Below are some resources to help you better understand and execute an article critique. The University of Texas School of Public Health has a library guide with some additional resources, including a couple videos. Massey University also has a library guide some good information.
Guides, frameworks, etc.
- Article Critique Guide from Flinders UniversityThis guide from Flinders University covers some points to think about when critiquing an article. Keep in mind the different sections of the articles may be called different things (in this guide they talk about the research design, which is also the methods part of a paper).
- Article Critique from Open MichiganThis leads to either a PDF or Word version of an assignment for an Open Michigan course - in the assignment questions to consider for each part of an article in an article critique are asked.
- Guide to a Focused Critique of Evidence Quality in a Quantitative Research ReportA guide from "Essentials of nursing research appraising evidence for nursing practice" by Polit, Denise F. and Beck, Cheryl Tatano.
- Guide to a Focused Critique of Evidence Quality in a Qualitative Research ReportA guide from "Essentials of nursing research appraising evidence for nursing practice" by Polit, Denise F. and Beck, Cheryl Tatano.
Articles - containing examples and tips
- Introduction to nursing research : incorporating evidence-based practiceChapter 13 of this book discusses the critique process and includes a critique worksheet which may be helpful. The book is in the Science Library - you can check it out or simply scan the pages the pages that are interesting to you.
Helpful Books
Below are a few books that may be helpful. Search Find It! on the Libraries' website for more books on nursing or health research and writing.
Evaluating Research Articles from Start to Finish by
With greater coverage of designs and analyses of data, more up-to-date articles, more articles to critique without help (but answers provided), and a glossary of all technical, relevant terms, the Second Edition will help researchers reach a decision about any conclusion reported in a research article.
Call Number: Q180.55.E9 G57 2001ISBN: 0761922148Publication Date: 2001-04-19
Research in Nursing and Health by
This book offers the reader a synopsis of research, appreciating both the science and art of inquiry. It is designed to present the basic elements of conducting and understanding nursing research using an expeditious and useful reference format. This updated new edition offers the reader a step-by-step guide to conducting research and to understanding the research studies done by others. It describes both quantitative and qualitative investigations. The book is written in outline format, for quick reference. An important feature of the new edition is an extensive listing of online databases and knowledge resources. Graduate students and nurse researchers will find this an easily accessible source of valuable information.
Call Number: RT81.5 .D49 2004ISBN: 9780826116161Publication Date: 2004-08-01
Nursing Research by
Become better at understanding and applying nursing research to your everyday work with Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 9th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts, this four-time recipient of the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year is the perfect text to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-based practice. This new ninth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research versus the professional researcher herself. This new edition also features: new research examples and vignettes; easy-to-use navigation tools; enhanced readability; expanded information on how to integrate interprofessional education and evidence-based practice; and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It's a must-have resource for any nurse wanting to take advantage of the nursing research and evidence-based practice currently out there. Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Effective learning aids in every chapter include Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Revised, refocused, and streamlined content throughout to better address the needs of consumers of research for evidence-based clinical practice. NEW! All-new research examples and Research Vignettes have been added throughout to demonstrate the most current high-quality published studies, and to exemplify the work on prominent nurse-researchers. NEW! Content on mixed-methods research along with secondary analysis has been added to the chapter on nonexperimental designs. NEW! Expanded coverage of systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines addresses these important aspects of research. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional education concepts and activities addresses the growing interest in interprofessional education and interprofessional collaborative practice. NEW! Enhanced readability and navigation tools make it easier for you to locate, understand, and retain information in the text. NEW! Revamped coverage of theory content and strategies for developing an evidence-based practice feature consolidated chapters that are more visual and less text-heavy.
Call Number: RT81.5 .N8665 2018ISBN: 9780323431316Publication Date: 2017-07-26
The Practice of Nursing Research by
With its unique nursing perspective and framework that links nursing research to nursing practice, the 5th edition gives readers the tools they need to successfully evaluate, implement, and conduct research studies. Users will discover balanced and detailed coverage of both quantitative and qualitative research, as well as abundant, concrete examples from the best research literature available. And practicing nurses, students, and instructors appreciate this book for its clear, direct writing style that makes complex concepts easy to understand. Instructor resources available; contact your sales representative for details. Websites direct students to an extensive array of information for use in conducting studies A clear, direct writing style that facilitates learning Rich and frequent illustration of major points and concepts from the most current research literature A nursing perspective and framework that links research to the whole of the nursing curriculum Detailed coverage of both quantitative and qualitative research methodologies Exciting coverage of evidence-based practice-a topic of vital and growing importance in a health care arena focused on quality and cost-effectiveness of patient care Full-color illustrations stimulate the learning experience Online Author Index makes it easy to look up cited articles by key authors Access the Evolve Learning System, which includes an innovative new Data Set where users can apply data analysis skills Increased research examples demonstrate principles with concrete examples Statistical analysis techniques for outcomes research teach readers to analyze health care outcomes Updated information on online research demonstrates the realities of nursing research today Enhanced coverage of qualitative research gives readers a balanced research perspective
Call Number: RT81.5 .B86 2005ISBN: 0721606261Publication Date: 2004-11-12
