Subject Guides
Physical Therapy
HS & ES Librarian
Welcome
Welcome to the PT Library Guide! This home page has information about resources and databases, new books, and linking Google Scholar to Binghamton University resources. Use the tabs on the left (above if on mobile) to navigate the site for a variety of information including my contact information.
I also invite you to explore the healthcare page of our Anti-Racism Research and Resource Guide.
AccessPhsyotherapy
- AccessPhysiotherapyThis comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool –optimized for viewing on any device.
PT Resources and Databases
Below are selected databases that are useful for PT related information. Find more here.
Need a general reference resource? Try AccessScience or a places-to-start databases!
Databases for Literature Research
Databases for Literature Research
- Sportdiscus with Full TextCovers sports and sports medicine research, including records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more.
- Rehabilitation Reference CenterCurrent information and point-of-care resources in the fields of physical therapy, sports medicine, occupational therapy, and speech therapy, focusing on systematic identification, evaluation and consolidation of practice-changing information.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine OneFileCovers fitness and sports, offering a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
- MEDLINE Authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
- PubMed From the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- CINAHL Ultimate Extensive coverage of nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health. Full text of the most influential journals in nursing. Covers publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing.Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software.
- Cochrane Library Contains evidence-based articles, reviews, protocols, clinical trials, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.
- Web of Science Indexes "over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide ... and over 160,000 conference proceedings." Covers the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, from 1900.
- Alt-HealthWatch Literature that focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- EmbaseCovers the most important international biomedical literature with all articles indexed in depth. It includes: over 32 million records, including MEDLINE titles; over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase; over 2.3 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009; and full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data.
- TRIP databaseClinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request items not available online.
- Nursing and Allied Health OneFile
Academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
- Annual ReviewsThese summarize the current state of research on a subject by organizing, synthesizing, and critically evaluating the relevant literature.
Clinical and Reference Resources
Clinical and Reference Resources
- DynamedClinically-organized summaries for more than 3,400 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience. DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians, residents, nurse practitioners and other healthcare professionals for use at the point of care.
Instruments & Measures
Instruments & Measures
- PROMIS (Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System)"a set of person-centered measures that evaluates and monitors physical, mental, and social health in adults and children. It can be used with the general population and with individuals living with chronic conditions."
Drug / Pharmacy Resources
Drug / Pharmacy Resources
- AccessPharmacyDesigned to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. Allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
- LexicompDatabase containing comprehensive clinical drug information. It includes Lexi-Drugs and Lexi-Interact.
- MicromedexMicromedex is a suite of databases offering comprehensive drug, disease and toxicology oriented information for health care professionals and patients.
- Facts & Comparisons eAnswersDrug information for pharmacists, physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals. Provides information on drug efficacy, composition, and identification; drug comparison, indications for use and adverse reactions; and patient information handouts. Also covers herbal medications, supplements and other medical care products.
New Books!
Below are the print books purchased in the last year and the e-books purchased in the last 4 months that focus on Physical Therapy. We have MANY other books coming in on various rehabilitation, health, and medical topics. Check out the Books tab on this guides for information on how to search for books.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar promotes itself as a resource that provides one-stop shopping for scholarly literature. It searches across many disciplines and covers a wide variety of resources, including journal articles, theses, books, abstracts, and more. Although Google Scholar is aimed at the academic community, it uses a very broad definition of "scholarly literature." Remember that the content isn't free or necessarily available in full-text. It is important to realize that not everything, or even most, in Google Scholar is peer reviewed.
If you find an article you like that has a pay wall, don't pay - see if the library has it or request it through ILL. You can customize Google Scholar to display the Get It! link so you can get access to some articles through the library.
The Get It! link will automatically occur in Google Scholar searches done on campus. For off campus users:
1. Go to Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com.
2. Before doing a search go into Settings. This is usually under the three bars in the upper left, but may be at the top of the page or elsewhere. Look for the gear symbol.
3. Type "Binghamton University" in the the "Library Links" box and select "Binghamton Universit - Get It!."
4. Click Save.
5. The Get It! link will now appear each time you search Google Scholar. (If you are off campus, you will need to log in once you click the Get It! link to get access.)
