Citation Analysis & Metrics

Locate impact factors and related measures, how to locate where and how often authors and articles are cited, and how to create scholar profiles.

Getting Started in Web of Science

*For best use, use Firefox, since there are some features in Web of Science that are not supported in the Chrome browser.*

To search for articles in Web of Science that cite a work, start in the Core Collection by clicking on the drop down menu to the left of the Search menu.

Provide some or all of the following information about the source work:

  • Author name (i.e. SMITH AE).  If you are searching only on author, use the drop-down to the right to change the search field from "topic" to "author.
     
  • Work (journal abbreviations only, use the journal abbreviation list to check a title)
     
  • Organization of the author
     
  • Date range by using the Timespan limits. The Default timespan is 1983 - present.

Under "More Settings,"  you can limit to the three separate Citation Index databases.

On the results screen, view citations for individual works by clicking View Record and then review the links to the left under Citation Network. 

Finding the full-text of articles

To locate the full-text of articles (electronic or print copies, depending on the Libraries' holdings), click on the journal title article and then select   button.   Articles that we do not have can be obtained through Inter-Library Loan directly through the Get it @ BU service.

 

Search Tips

You can limit your search to specific fields (such as Author, Publication Name, Organization  Name) by selecting the field name using the drop down to the right of the search box.   

When you select a specific field, a link to an field index will appear.  Since Web of Science uses abbreviations and tries to resolve for variations on names (for examples SUNY Binghamton, Binghamton University) for these fields, searching the index first will make sure that you receive the correct search results.

Finding the Citation Counts

Each article will display the citation count to the far right of the citation.  Clicking on the article title will bring up the "Citation Network" for each article, which provides a series of quick links to article level citation information.

Times Cited
The "Times Cited" is the total number of times the article is cited across all databases on the Web of Science platform - which includes databases the Binghamton University Libraries may not subscribe to.     Clicking on the "Times Cited" link will return the records for the articles in the databases that Libraries subscribe to, so your results list may be lower then the total indicated in "Times Cited."

Cited References
"Cited References" will bring up the reference list of the article. 

Citation Map
The Citation Map is a visualization tool that groups cited and citing articles around author and subject themes.  The tool allows you to view the citation history of the article forward (articles that cited the original article) or backwards (articles cited by original article).    For each direction, you can view 1 generation or 2 generations (for example, the articles that were cited in the original article plus the articles those articles cited).

For more detail on using the Citation Map, see Web of Science Help.