Essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications. The database provides 250+ topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point, counterpoint, and Critical Thinking Guide.
Full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Coverage: 1972-present.
Scholarly articles and other literature that is international in scope covering all areas of Political Science.
Indexes and abstracts more than 800 journals in Political Science, providing full-text for approximately 500. Also provides full-text of more than 36,000 conference papers, including the papers of the International Political Science Association.
Full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
Spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others.
Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, and violence.
Indexed materials focus on topics of anthropology, archaeology, and related disciplines.
Anthropology Plus joins the databases Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index to index more than 5,870 sources and contains over one million records ranging back from the early 19th century to present. Articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries cover a variety of anthropological studies including cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic.
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
A research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
Primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century,you can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
We have perpetual access to parts I, II, III, and IV
Includes dozens of rare primary source documents organized by topic/ focus which span European colonialism, 1960s social movements, womens' rights, African-American civil rights, the Holocaust, and the Tiananmen Square protest.
*America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War
*American Indian Movement (AIM) and Native American Radicalism
*Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League
*Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle
*Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford)
*British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
*Bush Presidency And Development And Debate Over Civil Rights Policy And Legislation
*Changing Men Collection Digital Archive
*Civil Rights & Social Activism in AL: Papers of John LeFlore, 1926-76 and the Records of the Non-Partisan Voters League, 1956-87
*Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
*County and Regional Histories & Atlases: New York, 1804-1966
*European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century (French Colonialism in Africa: 1910-1930, German Colonies, 1930-1939; Italian Colonies, 1930-1939; Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929)
*Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
*FBI Files: Assassination of Martin Luther King, JR.; American POWs/MIAs in Southeast Asia; Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: * *Communists in the Motion Picture Industry; War on Poverty: Office of Civil Rights, 1965-1968; Watergate; We We Prepared for the Possibility of Death, Freedom Riders in the South, 1961-1962
*FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC
*FDR/New Deal & Race Relations 1933-1945
*Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
*Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
*Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño (P.R. Independence Party)
*Fight For Racial Justice And The Civil Rights Congress
*Final Accountability Rosters Of Evacuees: Japanese-American Relocation Centers/1944-1946
*German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941
*Grassroots Civil Rights and Social Action: Council for Social Action, 1934-1956
*Holocaust And Records Of Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution Of Nazi War Crimes
*Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
*Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West’s Response to Jewish Emigration
*Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963
*International Women’s Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women’s Association of the USA, 1950-1985
*Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives On Day-To-Day Life
*James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
*Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
*Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection
*JFK’s Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963
*Johnson Administration and Foreign Affairs
*Legal Battle for Civil Rights in AL: Vernon Z. Crawford Records, 1958-78 Civil Rights Cases
*Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
*Liberia and the US: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1935
*Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project
*Minutemen, 1963-1969: Evolution of the Militia Movement in America, Part I
*National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985
*Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports 1945-1949
*Nazism In Poland: The Diary Of Governor-General Hans Frank
*Nixon Administration and Foreign Affairs
*Nuremburg Laws And Nazi Annulment Of Jewish German Nationality
*Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973
*Palestine and Israel: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959
*Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
*Papers of the Nixon Administration: The President’s Confidential and Subject Special Files, 1969-1974
*Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters
*Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
*Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II: Air Dropped and Shelled Leaflets and Periodicals
*Quest For Labor Equality In Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union/1965-1979
*Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project
*Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
*Safehaven Reports On Nazi Looting Of Occupied Countries And Assets In Neutral Countries
*Sunday School Movement and Its Curriculum
*Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006
*Testaments to the Holocaust Digital Archive
*Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
*Transcripts of the Malcolm X Assassination Trial
*U.S. Military Activities & Civil Rights: Integration of University of MS Use of Military Force, 1961-63
*U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: The Little Rock Integration Crisis, 1957-1958
*U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: Military Response to March on Washington, 1963
*Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1945
*Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within The White House, 1974-1977
*Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
*Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969
The definitive non-governmental organization devoted to tracking human rights conditions worldwide. Web site contains annual reports from 1996 to the present, thematic reports, and current news releases, updated daily. Can browse by country or theme.
Finding Books
Start your search on the "Catalog" tab on the Library home page.
If you are looking for a specific Author or Title, you can change the "Keyword" box to reflect your search. Otherwise, type in one or two select keywords.
The results will show with the number of results at the top of the screen. If there are too many, you can use the filters along the left to limit, including by:
Available in the Library -- generally, items that are in physical form - i.e a print material item
Available online - ebooks and journal titles that are online
You can also often limit by Material Type, such as:
Book
Audio-Visual (streaming video / dvd)
Date, language and topics will be available to limit to by as well.
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Can download the statistics files as Excel files. Coverage: 1878-ongoing
