Many article databases will allow you to just search just the editorial/commentary sections. For example:
- In Academic Search Complete use the "Document Type" field to limit to Editorials.
- In the Proquest Newsstand databases, use the "Document Type" field to search for Commentary.
Check database Help screens for more information if you need guidance.
These sources provide news, analysis and commentary.
- CQ Researcher
A weekly publication providing original in-depth analysis of the most current major and controversial issues of the day, 1991 - present
- CQ Weekly
News from the U.S Congress - summaries of what legislation is being introduced, votes, and analysis of the discussions and legislation.
- United Nations - Global Issues
Offers overviews and insights into the most pressing issues on the UNs' agenda.
- Foreign Policy in Focus
A liberal think tank focused on foreign policy issues that provides commentary and research-based articles on a variety of topics.
- Public Agenda
Offers non-partisan reports on issues ranging from Abortion to Social Security.
- White House Briefing Room
For the latest press releases, briefings, speeches and other news sources of the White House.
- Proquest Current Bibliographies
Current topic subject guides that provide annotated lists of sources, mostly government documents and data sets.
- CSA Discovery Guides
Short briefs on a variety of subjects.
Sources for opinion essays:
- Congressional Digest, 1922-present
Short essays on issues that have appeared before Congress.
- Points of View Reference Center
Provides 255 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Covers a variety of social topics. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents,
- Taking sides: Clashing Viewpoints on Controversial Issues (Bartle Library stacks)
Each book deals with a broad topic area. Each chapter addresses a specific argument, providing a pro and con side.
These sources are useful for more in-depth research on topics and to provide timelines.
- World News Digest
Brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, people, issues, facts, and figures from 1940 to the present
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Provides ethical arguments on a variety of current topics, ranging from abortion to euthanasia. Also provides a Further Reading selection for each subject.
- CQ Historic Documents
Collection of primary source documents, ranging from Supreme Court opinions, reports, studies, treaties, and speeches, that related to significant events for each year, dating back to 1972.
- Contemporary World Issues (Bartle Library, some are e-books)
Each book focuses on a different topic. Provides key figures, important facts, figures & events, along with a summary of important laws and a historical background.
607-205-8173 (Text Reference)
607-777-2345 (Research Help Phone)