Subject Guides
Psychology
Subject Librarian
Books in Psychology
Finding Books
When you search in Find It!, you're searching in the Library Catalog, Local Digital Collections (Special Collections' Digital Materials and Binghamton University-created materials), and a mega-index of scholarly e-resources including articles, book reviews, ebooks, and more. You can refine your search with the limiters on the left side of the search results page. These include such limiters as date ranges, location, subject headings, and languages.
To search for books in Find It!, follow these steps:
- On the Libraries’ website, click Advanced Search on the Find It! tab.
- For search scope, select Library Catalog.
- For material type, select Books.
- Enter your search terms.
- Click Search.
Searching for ebooks
There are several ebooks also available in our library collection! If you are interested in searching for ebooks, you can find more information about how to find and download them on our "Finding and Using ebooks" page here.
Reference Resources
Reference resources can be used if you are looking for background or general information on a topic. Reference materials include materials like atlases, encyclopedias, and handbooks. Below are a few online and print reference resources on psych-related topics.
Reference Databases:
- AccessScience (Encyclopedia of Science and Technology)Online version of online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Includes research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News® headlines, biographies, and more.
Reference eBooks:
APA Dictionary of Psychology by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2006-07-15With over 25,000 terms and definitions, the APA Dictionary of Psychology encompasses all areas of research and application, and includes coverage of concepts, processes, and therapies across all the major subdisciplines of psychology.
Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2007-06-15This reference provides over 400 new or improved terms, and is an exhaustive guide to the key terms used in psychological testing, assessment and measurement. Over 3000 definitions offer clear explanations of statistical procedures commonly used in psychology; major psychometric and other psychological tests; categories of mental illness, mental disability, and brain damage; frequently used medical terms; basic neuroanatomy; and types of psychological therapies.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by Call Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2006-08-18The Encyclopedia addresses culture across a broad spectrum of psychological perspectives and includes topics that are relevant to social psychology, cognitive psychology, environmental psychology, cross-cultural psychology, and clinical psychology.
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by Publication Date: 2007-08-29These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts.
The Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology by ISBN: 9780199366200Publication Date: 2014-01-14Comprised of over fifty contributed chapters, this book provides a necessary, comprehensive overview of contemporary cultural psychology. Bridging psychological, sociological, and anthropological perspectives, one will find in this handbook a concise history of psychology that includes valuable resources for innovation in psychology in general and cultural psychology in particular.
Reference Print Books:
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology by Call Number: BF31 .E52 2010 (Science Library - Ref)ISBN: 9780470170243Publication Date: 2010-01-26The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology four-volume set has been the reference of choice for almost three decades. It Is the first stop for comprehensive, accurate, accessible, and up to date information on all the subfields of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and neuroscience.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 4 Volume Set by Call Number: BF31 .E52 2001 (Science Library - Oversize Rm G14)ISBN: 0471239496Publication Date: 2000-12-11For more than twenty years, this indispensable resource has been the reference of choice for psychologists, researchers, teachers, and students who need up-to-date and comprehensive information in the fields of psychology and behavioral science.
The Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology and Psychoanalysis by Call Number: RC437 .E49 1996 (Science Library - Ref)ISBN: 0805022341Publication Date: 1996-12-15A Choice Outstanding Academic Book Award
Encyclopedia of Health Psychology by Call Number: R726.7 .E53 2004 (Science Library - Oversize Rm G14)ISBN: 030648336XPublication Date: 2004-07-21Covers more than 200 contributions by more than 150 of the leading researchers, educators, and practitioners in the field.
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology by Call Number: LB1050.9 .E63 2008 (Bartle - Oversize) & OnlinePublication Date: 2008-01-17The field of educational psychology draws from a variety of diverse disciplines including human development across the life span, measurement and statistics, learning and motivation, and teaching. And within these different disciplines, many other fields are featured including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counseling, history, and philosophy.
