Subject Guides
Psychology
Subject Librarian
Quick Links for Database Searching
Below are a few links to webinars and tutorials on how to search in databases:
Recommended Databases
Below are a list of databases that all contain psychology-related content. For more information on how to begin your database searching, visit the "Database Search Tips" page here.
- PsycINFO (APA)Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1887-current.
- PsycARTICLES (APA)
Full-text articles in general and specialized psychology from over 100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage: 1988 - present.
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
- PubMedFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- APA PsycTESTSDatabase of psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessment tools. Contains a wide range of test types, including test batteries, questionnaires, rating scales, surveys, along with descriptive information about each test, such as how they were developed and administered.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionCovers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Psychology OneFile
Academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
- Health and Medicine OneFIle
Access to articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.
- PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic StressProvides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other psychiatric disorders. Coverage ranges from 1871 to current.
- Cochrane LibraryContains evidence-based articles, reviews, protocols, clinical trials, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.
Additional Databases
- MEDLINE with Full TextFull text of authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
- CogprintsAn electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology, Medicine, Anthropology, as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
- Annual ReviewsThese summarize the current state of research on a subject by organizing, synthesizing, and critically evaluating the relevant literature.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
- Full List of Psychology DatabasesClick this link for a full list of all our psychology-related databases.
