Subject Guides
Psychology
Subject Librarian
Psychology News & Magazines
- NYTimes: Psychology & Psychologists Section"News about Psychology and Psychologists, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times."
- PsycPORT: Psychology in the NewsCollection of recent psychology news articles published in online news sources. From the American Psychology Association.
- Scientific American - MindThe psychology section of Scientific American.
- Psychology TodayPopular science magazine that focuses on topics related to psychology.
Streaming Video & Audio Resources
- JoVE NeuroscienceJournal of Visualized Experiments Neuroscience - devoted to investigations of the structure, function, physiology, and pathophysiology of the brain and nervous system. Included methodologies range from molecular and cellular level studies to full central and peripheral neural systems. Potential treatment platforms and surgical techniques for neurological diseases and disorders are also presented in this section.
- JoVE - GeneralJournal of Visualized Experiments - General Collection - Contains several academic and scholarly articles that are accompanied by videos.
- Ted Talks - PsychologyThe link is to the psychology collection of Ted Talks. Researchers are challenged to explain their topic in less than 18 minutes.
- LearnOutLoud.com - Social SciencesLearn Out Loud is a free site that contains over 50,000 different audio and visual materials that span several subject areas. Their social sciences collection contains hundreds of podcasts, audiobooks, and videos about psychology.
Recommended Websites
|
AmoebaWeb is a site that contains an extensive list of useful online psychology resources. You will be able to browse over 2,000 links, all organized into categories based on psych-related topics. |
|
The Allen Institute for Brain Science has several resources on human and animal neuroscience, including many atlases full of brain-related data. To explore these tools further, visit their brain map data portal at http://portal.brain-map.org/. |
|
The American Psychological Association website contains several useful links to resources about psychology. This includes APA citation help, short encyclopedic definitions on a large number of psychology terms, and information on careers in psychology. |
|
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) can be a useful resource when looking for background information on health or medically-related topics. There are also several branches of the NIH that may also have information useful for psychology, such as the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS), and National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA). |
|
Khan Academy - Health and Medicine is a free, online educational resource that contains several videos, quizzes, and courses on anatomy, mental health, disease, and much more. |
Searching for Films and Audio in Find It!
To search for films or other A/V materials in the library's collection, first go to the "Advanced Search option" of the Find It! search box (see below).
Once there, change the Material Type box on the right hand side to "Audio Visual" and then type in "psychology" or other keywords that you may want to use in the search bars. Click "search" once you are ready to view your results. You can always narrow down your results further by using the "refine my results" bar. This will pop-up on the left-hand side after running your initial search.
