Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Course Pages
- LACS 380F
- History of Immigration and Displacement
LACS 380F
This interdisciplinary course draws primarily on methodologies, major concepts, and literature
from diverse fields, mainly in the social sciences. It compares and contrasts the histories of, and
motivations for, Asian and Latin American immigration to t
UNITED STATES HISTORY
- America: History & Life with Full TextLiterature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used. United States and world content coverage.
Asian & Asian American Studies
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesContains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
COURSE PAGE - HDEV 465 - Researching Immigrant Lives
NEWS RESOURCES
- Access World NewsFull text of regional and local newspapers for all US states and international sources.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
The complete content of selected newspaper titles: Boston Globe,1872 start date; Chicago Defender, 1909-1975; Chicago Tribune, 1849 start date; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2010; New York Herald/Tribune, 1924 start date; New York Times, 1851 start date; Los Angeles Times, 1881 start date; Philadelphia Inquirer/Public Ledger, 1860 start date; South China Morning Post, 1903 start date; Times of India, 1838-2010; Wall Street Journal, 1889 start date; Washington Post, 1877-start date.
