No matter where you get your image (Google image search, ARTstor, museum website, scan from a book) or how you use it (Power Point, in a paper for class, a flyer), you MUST provide a citation for every image you use. This is as simple as adding the URL to the bottom of the digital image. See the Using Images guide for more detailed information.
Make sure to provide as much information as possible, including:
Author or Creator name
Repository information (museum, library, or other owning institution)
Binghamton University Libraries Scholarly Communications Program provides an extensive list of websites, tools, videos, and charts to help you understand the ins and outs of copyright permissions and up to date laws.
Database of over one million digital images encompassing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and material culture. Save and share images, cite images easily for research, and create personal collections and presentations using OIV (Offline Image Viewer) or PowerPoint. Search the local Visual Resource Collection (VRC). For assistance, contact Marcia Focht, Curator of Visual Resources at email@example.com or 607-777-2215.
For more detailed information about ARTstor's collections, see What's in ARTstor. Note: This resource will return the number of hits if it is fewer than 200. Otherwise, it will report 'Hits were found'. In either case, a link to results is provided.
Drawing from the collections of distinguished museums from around the world, this database offers unparalleled access to high-quality art images and related multimedia. Covers a broad range of time and place, with entries from 3000 B.C. to the present day, and art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe and the Americas.
VADS is the online resource for visual arts. It has provided services to the academic community for 12 years and has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
This interesting new Contemporary image database aims to mirror music and other "recommendation" based sites through what they call the "Art Genome Project," a growing data-set of categories that connect artworks for serendipitous exploration.
The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources [digital archives] from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required. Read more about this initiative here: http://www.getty.edu/about/opencontent.html
The PPOC Collection offers over 1.2 million digitized images, drawn from primarily American history, including photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings.
The image gallery contains over 8,000 photographs, letters, sketches, diaries, and other documents which have been scanned and individually described. Small resolution images are available without watermark for educational use.
Recording America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising more than 581,000 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 43,000 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century.