Subject Guides
Anthropology
Recommended Databases
- BIOSIS Citation IndexThe world's most comprehensive database on life science research. Includes cited references to primary journal literate, research reports and reviews.
- ScienceDirectA scientific database containing more than 10 million journal articles and book chapters.
- Web of ScienceSelectively indexes the most scholarly social science and science articles, conference proceedings, and reports from 1983-present.
- PsycINFO (APA)Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1887-current.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionCovers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- PubMedFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- PAIS IndexCovers issues in public affairs and policy issues through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. Coverage: 1915 - present.
- Women Studies InternationalCovers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Covers 1972 - present.
Select Websites
- E-SkeletonsA site devoted to teaching skeletal anatomy, it allows users to view bones of humans and primates.
- Grey Literature Report"The report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine Library alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics" --from site
- Health MapProvides a global map of infectious diseases and provides information about their effect on human and animal health
- Genecards database"A searchable, integrated, database of human genes that provides concise genomic related information, on all known and predicted human genes" --from site
- Orphanet"portal for rare diseases and orphan drugs"
- European Ethnohistory DatabaseTraces the history of ethnic groups, their affinities, and languages.
- Body-SmartProvides visual overview of the human skeleton and human skeletal system
Special Collections
Highlighted Biological Collections:
