Subject Guides
Anthropology
American Anthropological Association News
Loading ...
Publication/ Grant Resources
- Ulrichsweb.comUlrichsweb.com has bibliographic and publisher information for more than 300,000 periodicals including academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters.
- Wenner-Gren FoundationSupporting anthropological research through grants
Recommended Subject-focused Databases
Please be sure to review the multi-disciplinary databases for broader coverage, the anthropology-specific databases have limited indexing.
If you need help narrowing your search to anthropological-related articles please contact Bandrus@binghamton.edu
- Anthropology PlusAnthropology Plus combines the databases Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index to index more than 5,870 sources and contains over one million records ranging back from the early 19th century to present.
- AnthroSource (Wiley Online Library)AnthroSource is a service of the American Anthropological Association that offers members and subscribing libraries full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline.
- Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) ArchivePrimary resources (maps, manuscripts, photos, fieldwork, proceedings, etc.) from the RAI of Great Britain and Ireland. Includes a 150,000-image library of ethnographic photographs dating back to the 1860s. Research interests covered in anthropology, colonial students, botany, and more.
- HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHraf is an unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Includes the full text of ethnographic books, journal articles and other materials that are indexed by culture and subject.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
- Sociological AbstractsProvides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes the subset Social Services Abstracts.
- GeoRefGuide to literature of the world about geology and earth sciences. Topics include crystallography, hydrogeology, economic geology, hydrology, environmental geology, marine geology, engineering geology, mineralogy, geochemistry, oceanography, geophysics, and paleontology.
Recommended Multidisciplinary Databases
See also Africana Studies, Asian Studies, Classical and Near Eastern Studies, History, Latin American and Carribean Studies, Middle East and North African Studies, Sociology, and Women Studies.
- JSTORA multi-disciplinary database, which contains 86 Anthropology journal titles and 86 Archaeology titles.
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Special and Digital Collections
- Institute for Development Anthropology (Binghamton, N.Y.)
- Vera Beaudin Saeedpour Kurdish Library and Museum Collection
- The Haggerty Collection
- The Yi-t'ung Wang Collection and East Asian Collection
- Local History Collections
- Medical History Collection
- Peace Action Movement Collection
- Lamont Montgomery Bowers Paper (Rockefeller's secretary) (contains information about the Ludlow Massacre)
- Immanuel Wallerstein Collection
- Broome County Church Architecture Collection
- Public Archaeology Facility Reports
- Grace Burkholder Collection (excavations of Saudi Arabia)
- Broome County Oral History Project
- Herman Hespelt Papers (Phillipines)
- David Bernstein Papers
- Hazard Lewis Farms Collection (University now located on site)
- John McLaughlin Collection of Popular Culture, 1900-2000
- Albert Dekin Arctic Collection
To find and use primary sources on the web, see RUSA's: Using Primary Sources on the Web
