Tests & Measures

• American Psychological Association

  The APA provides information about recent research and testing trends, reviews of published resources, and serves as a good general information site for testing. Their page on Finding Instruments About Psychological Tests (https://www.apa.org/science/programs/testing/find-tests) provides details on how to obtain testing instruments and give guidance on how to use resources to find the testing instruments.

• APA Code of Fair Testing Practices

  Guide for professionals in fulfilling their obligation to provide and use tests that are fair to all test takers.

• American Evaluation Association

  The American Evaluation Association is an international professional association of evaluators devoted to the application and exploration of program evaluation, personnel evaluation, technology, and many other forms of evaluation.

• Buros Center for Testing

  The Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, publisher of Tests in Print and Mental Measurements Yearbook website offers tools that can help you obtain testing materials and reviews.

• ETS Test Collection

  The Educational Testing Service's (ETS) website provides access to the ETS test collection database which contains over 25,000 testing devices.

• FairTest

  Works to end the misuses and flaws of standardized testing and to ensure that evaluation of students, teachers and schools is fair, open, valid and educationally beneficial.

• Joint Committee on Testing Practices

  Established in 1985 by the American Educational Research Association (AERA), the American Psychological Association (APA), and the National Council on Measurement in Education (NCME). In 2007 the JCTP disbanded, but JCTP publications are still available and may be obtained by contacting any of the groups listed in the product descriptions shown on this Web site.

• National Association of Test Directors (NATD)

  NATD is an association of professionals responsible for assessment programs in public educational settings. The membership is broadly representative of North America.

• Pearson Assessments

  This is a commercial site that offers assessments for clinical and psychological use. Tests are clearly explained for functionality and implementation. Tests can be purchased from this site.

• PROQOLID: Patient-Reported Outcome and Quality of Life Instruments Database

  This site offers free, but limited public access to their database. For each instrument in the database, you will find 14 categories of basic information (e.g., author, objective, mode of administration, original language, existing translations, pathology, number of items, etc.).

TestLink

Produced by: Educational Testing Service

• ETS provides a catalog of tests you can purchase through ETS, through publishers, and tests in books and journals.
• Order tests (for a fee) through the "Order a Test" feature.

MIDSS: Measurement Instrument Database for the Social Science

Produced by: Whitaker Institute for Innovation and Societal Change, National University of Ireland, Galway
More information: About us

• The site is designed to be a repository for instruments that are used to collect data from across the social sciences.
• There are more than 500 instruments concerned with a wide range of topics (e.g. autism, health, pain).

Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database

Produced by: Addictions, Drug & Alcohol Institute, University of Washington

• This resource is intended to help clinicians and researchers find instruments used for screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders.

CMS Measures Inventory Tool

Produced by: US Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Last updated: 2021
About: About this site

• Perform a search by topic
• Each measure has an endorsement designation by the National Quality Forum
• Click on a title for additional information including an "environmental scan"
  • The environmental scan lists PubMed citations and PubMed Central articles that cite the measure.

TMdb: Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes

Produced by: Helen Hough, Systems Librarian, Hough@uta.edu with Burt King (through 2013)
Last updated: 2014

• This site provides a listing of books that include the full text of tests and measures.
• To obtain any of the volumes listed on this web site:
  • Check PittCat to determine if HSLS carries it.
    • There may be an updated edition of the book.
  • If the volume is unavailable at HSLS, contact the library Document Delivery service to obtain the volume.

Questionnaire Instrument Compendium

Produced by: Alan Reifman, Professor, Human Development and Family Studies, Texas Tech University
Last updated: August 2019

• The author of this page links only to pages where (a) the full instrument is shown, and (b) the instrument was put on the web by the person who created the instrument.