Subject Guides
HIST 480Z/501E: Death and Dying in America
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Library Databases
- Black Studies CenterHistorical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Materials includes newspapers, dissertations, abolitionist papers, and oral interviews. See the Binghamton University Libraries Center for the 1960s.
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
The collection currently includes 145 document projects and document archives with 6700 documents and more than 200,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 3000 primary authors. The database also contains numerous collections of primary sources, including the Writings of Black Women Suffragists and Publications of State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women.
- HistoryMakers Digital ArchiveOral life histories of African-Americans from across the United States covering the widest range of life, culture and movements, with the earliest memories dating back to 1890.
- Archives UnboundIncludes dozens of rare primary source documents organized by topic/ focus which span European colonialism, 1960s social movements, womens' rights, African-American civil rights, the Holocaust, and the Tiananmen Square protest.
Historical Newspapers & Periodicals
- Black Life in AmericaThe experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1976 to today.
- Chicago Defender, 1909-1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Searchable full-text and page images from leading African American news publication before World War I. The Defender covered many significant national events that received only cursory attention from other newspapers.
- New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2010 (Proquest Historical Newspapers)New York City's oldest and most influential Black-owned and African-American geared newspapers, covering national and international news. For current coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- African American Historical Serials CollectionThis collection documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides a window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy.
Digital Collections Outside Binghamton University
- CSI: DixieCollecting extant coroners' inquests for the state of South Carolina between 1800 and 1900, "CSI: Dixie" provides rare glimpses into Victorian-era suicide, homicide, infanticide, abortion, child abuse, spousal abuse, master-slave murder, and slave on slave violence.
- SlaveVoyagesRecords of 27,233 slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Allows information tracking by time period and geographic region. Interactive maps allow viewers to chart trans-Atlantic connections. Includes materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.
