Subject Guides
HIST 480Z/501E: Death and Dying in America
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Library Databases with Broad Coverage
- AM ExplorerAccess millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries. Trial extended to March 1, 2024. Contact Matthew Gallagher for feedback or questions.
Click "Collections" at the top to browse by subject. - Sabin Americana: History of the Americas 1500-1926Covers more than 400 years and 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies. The collection includes sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, highlighting the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of occurring 1500-1926.
- America: History & Life with Full TextLiterature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
- North American Immigrant Diaries, Letters and Oral HistoriesLetters, diaries and transcripts of oral histories that provide an unique view of immigration to the United States and Canada between 1800-1950.
Newspapers & Periodicals with Broad Coverage
- U.S. ProQuest Historical NewspapersThe complete content of the Boston Globe,1872 start date; Chicago Defender, 1909-1975; Chicago Tribune, 1849 start date; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2010; New York Collection (multiple titles); New York Herald/Tribune, 1924 start date; New York Times, 1851 start date; Los Angeles Times, 1881 start date; Philadelphia Inquirer/Public Ledger, 1860 start date; Wall Street Journal, 1889 start date; Washington Post, 1877-start date.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Fully searchable collection of founding newspapers, documenting America's past. The Libraries subscribes to Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nations and Early American Newspapers Series 10: Regional Pioneers.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals, 1691-1877Providing digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.
- American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and others of historical interest.
Digital Collections Outside Binghamton University
- New York Public Library Digital Collection700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
