This collection contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor. Also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.
Archive of unique manuscripts chronicling the American Civil War as it was experienced. Providing both Northern and Southern perspectives, it covers all aspects of the war, including reactions and impressions from the home front.
Gateway to North America consists of unique content from the the NY Historical Society, including more than 800,000 pages from over 1,500 incredibly diverse sources.
Materials include: Early tourist guides; member lists to a lot of clubs, churches, colleges/universities/graduation lists; Municipal records – where the flu hit and where it hit hardest; Transportation guides, travel guides, theater guides; Ads for local fashions; Names and physical descriptions of American Civil War deserters and incarcerated; Map and travel schedules that depicts the growth of neighborhoods; Postal & tax rates.
Includes dozens of rare primary source documents organized by topic/ focus which span European colonialism, 1960s social movements, womens' rights, African-American civil rights, the Holocaust, and the Tiananmen Square protest.
*America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War
*American Indian Movement (AIM) and Native American Radicalism
*Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League
*Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle
*Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford)
*British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
*Bush Presidency And Development And Debate Over Civil Rights Policy And Legislation
*Changing Men Collection Digital Archive
*Civil Rights & Social Activism in AL: Papers of John LeFlore, 1926-76 and the Records of the Non-Partisan Voters League, 1956-87
*Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
*County and Regional Histories & Atlases: New York, 1804-1966
*European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century (French Colonialism in Africa: 1910-1930, German Colonies, 1930-1939; Italian Colonies, 1930-1939; Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929)
*Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
*FBI Files: Assassination of Martin Luther King, JR.; American POWs/MIAs in Southeast Asia; Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: * *Communists in the Motion Picture Industry; War on Poverty: Office of Civil Rights, 1965-1968; Watergate; We We Prepared for the Possibility of Death, Freedom Riders in the South, 1961-1962
*FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC
*FDR/New Deal & Race Relations 1933-1945
*Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
*Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
*Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño (P.R. Independence Party)
*Fight For Racial Justice And The Civil Rights Congress
*Final Accountability Rosters Of Evacuees: Japanese-American Relocation Centers/1944-1946
*German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941
*Grassroots Civil Rights and Social Action: Council for Social Action, 1934-1956
*Holocaust And Records Of Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution Of Nazi War Crimes
*Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
*Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West’s Response to Jewish Emigration
*Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963
*International Women’s Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women’s Association of the USA, 1950-1985
*Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives On Day-To-Day Life
*James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
*Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
*Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection
*JFK’s Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963
*Johnson Administration and Foreign Affairs
*Legal Battle for Civil Rights in AL: Vernon Z. Crawford Records, 1958-78 Civil Rights Cases
*Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
*Liberia and the US: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1935
*Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project
*Minutemen, 1963-1969: Evolution of the Militia Movement in America, Part I
*National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985
*Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports 1945-1949
*Nazism In Poland: The Diary Of Governor-General Hans Frank
*Nixon Administration and Foreign Affairs
*Nuremburg Laws And Nazi Annulment Of Jewish German Nationality
*Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973
*Palestine and Israel: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959
*Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
*Papers of the Nixon Administration: The President’s Confidential and Subject Special Files, 1969-1974
*Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters
*Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
*Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II: Air Dropped and Shelled Leaflets and Periodicals
*Quest For Labor Equality In Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union/1965-1979
*Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project
*Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
*Safehaven Reports On Nazi Looting Of Occupied Countries And Assets In Neutral Countries
*Sunday School Movement and Its Curriculum
*Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006
*Testaments to the Holocaust Digital Archive
*Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
*Transcripts of the Malcolm X Assassination Trial
*U.S. Military Activities & Civil Rights: Integration of University of MS Use of Military Force, 1961-63
*U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: The Little Rock Integration Crisis, 1957-1958
*U.S. Military Activities and Civil Rights: Military Response to March on Washington, 1963
*Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1945
*Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within The White House, 1974-1977
*Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
*Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969
Full-text database of Harper's Weekly, an illustrated American publication, provides scanned images of pages and includes indexes to subjects, illustrations, literature & publishing, and advertising.
Digital Collections provides access to the National Library of Medicine's distinctive digital content in the areas of biomedicine, health care, and the history of medicine.
