Subject Guides
HIST 470/LACS 482C: Latin America and the Cold War
Guide Contents
Newspaper Portals
- New York State Library - NewspapersInformation on print and microfilm newspapers held in the New York State Library, searchable by city, county and title. Also, digital newspapers available via New York State Library databases.
Digital Newspapers
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- America's Historical Newspapers
Fully searchable collection of founding newspapers, documenting America's past. The Libraries subscribes to Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nations and Early American Newspapers Series 10: Regional Pioneers.
- Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800 [CDROM]Articles, editorials, and advertisements from a Philadelphia newspaper covering the Western Hemisphere.
- Harpweek: The Civil War Era (1857-1865)Full-text database of Harper's Weekly, an illustrated American publication, provides scanned images of pages and includes indexes to subjects, illustrations, literature & publishing, and advertising.
- Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Pressndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
The complete content of selected newspaper titles: Boston Globe,1872 start date; Chicago Defender, 1909-1975; Chicago Tribune, 1849 start date; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2010; New York Herald/Tribune, 1924 start date; New York Times, 1851 start date; Los Angeles Times, 1881 start date; Philadelphia Inquirer/Public Ledger, 1860 start date; South China Morning Post, 1903 start date; Times of India, 1838-2010; Wall Street Journal, 1889 start date; Washington Post, 1877-start date.
- Home Economics Archive (Cornell University)HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance.
