Subject Guides
HIST 470/LACS 482C: Latin America and the Cold War
Guide Contents
Librarian
News Databases
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers.
- Hispanic Life in AmericaHispanic American experience from 1904 to the present day, as portrayed by the media. It cultivates more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals and is updated daily.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Web of Science
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Related Subject Guides
Government Documents and Resources
- Digital National Security Archive
Declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations, covering events from the Berlin Crisis to post-9/11 U.S. intelligence.
- Foreign Relations of the United StatesThe FRUS series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity since 1861. Volumes contain documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy.
- Wilson Center Digital ArchiveConstructed and maintained by the Wilson Center's History and Public Policy Program, the Digital Archive contains declassified historical materials from archives around the world, much of it in English translation. The historical documents presented in the ever-expanding Digital Archive provide unique insights into recent international history, and serve to deepen and enrich international scholarship, history education, and public policy debate on important global issues and challenges.
- Avalon ProjectFull text documents relating to politics, history, law, diplomacy and government. International in scope, ranging from 400BC to current times. Contains treaties, speeches, constitutions, letters, etc. Links to supporting documents included.
Latin American/Hispanic American Databases
- Hispanic Life in AmericaHispanic American experience from 1904 to the present day, as portrayed by the media. It cultivates more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals and is updated daily.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth CenturyPrimary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; and audio and video.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online)Indexes journals about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. and includes a wide range of topics.
- Chicano DatabaseIndexes journal articles, books, newspaper articles, and book chapters dealing on all aspects of Latino life. Strongest for Chicanos/Mexican-Americans, but also includes content on other Latin American populations living in the United States including Puerto Ricans, Dominicans, Cuban Americans, and Central Americans.
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas 1500-1926Covers more than 400 years and 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies. The collection includes sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, highlighting the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of occurring 1500-1926.
- REDALyCAllows you to search for the full-text of articles from approximately 300 journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula. La Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal (RedALyC)'s interface is in Spanish.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new windowAn archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2An archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English
- Digitalia HispanicaThe most complete database of electronic books and journals in the Spanish language. Covers over 40,000 e-book and journal titles from countries such as Spain, Colombia, Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Dominican Republic
General Databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Human Rights Studies OnlineA research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
- Women and Social Movements, International, 1840 to PresentOnline archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
The collection currently includes 145 document projects and document archives with 6700 documents and more than 200,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 3000 primary authors. The database also contains numerous collections of primary sources, including the Writings of Black Women Suffragists and Publications of State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women.
- Gerritsen Collection - Women's History OnlineMonographs, journals, and pamphlets reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights up through the mid-twentieth century. Coverage: 1543-1945.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
