Subject Guides
CHEM 484T/584T Library Resources
created for Fall 2020 semester
Guide Contents
Citing Sources - ACS Style
ACS Style Guide (University of Wisconsin)
Cite common reference types.
Mendeley
Manage and format article information for bibliographies, footnotes, etc.
1. Create an account on Mendeley.
2. Download Mendeley Desktop.
Allows you to store citations on your desktop.
3. Download Mendeley Citation Plug-in
(if you can) (Word, LibreOffice)
Allows you to insert citations into Word Documents.
4. Install the Mendeley Web Importer Chrome extension.
Allows you to import articles and references.
More Help: Getting Started with Mendeley video.
Places to search for Journal Articles and Chemical Structures
This list includes different tools to help you locate information in chemistry.
There is one encyclopedia source:
AccessScience
There are journal article databases with structure and reaction search tools:
Scifinder Scholar, Reaxys, PubMed, and Chemspider
There are three tools to search for journal article citations:
Web of Science, Scifinder, and Google Scholar
Note: Scifinder Scholar requires registration.
Please email ebrown@binghamton.edu for the URL.
- AccessScience (Encyclopedia of Science and Technology)Online version of online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Includes research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News® headlines, biographies, and more.
- American Chemical Society Publications (Web Editions)Provides full text articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society and to which we have print subscriptions. Coverage: varies by title; earliest from 1896.
- ChemSpiderChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 63 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- Google ScholarFinds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. If you use this Google Scholar link, you will be able to use the Get it link to take advantage of the Libraries' full text and InterLibrary Loan services.
- PubMedFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals (1841-Current)Provides full text of journals from the Royal Society of Chemistry, including the RSC Journal Archive for select titles (1841-2007)
- CAS SciFinder-nCAS SciFinder-n provides reference, substance, reaction and supplier content and relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more.
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Learning about Chemistry and Chemical Topics on the web
There are lots of classroom materials of chemistry lectures, problem sets and exams on the web:
The video below is from one of the many collections from the Royal Institution's RI Channel in the UK.
Khan Academy has many introductory chemistry lecture videos. Note that problem set solutions may be locked.
CrashCourse has videos on Chemistry course topics.
MIT OpenCourseWare has lectures, problem sets and exams online.
UCI Open has lectures, problems and solutions in individual lectures.
Periodic Table of Videos covers many chemical topics.
Alternative Periodic Tables you may not have seen.
Periodic Table parodies on a variety of themes.
