Subject Guides
ENG 571A: Manuscripts, Media, Materiality
A guide to get you started on your research for Manuscripts
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
BREPOLIS MEDIEVAL DATABASES
- Brepols Publishers OnlineProvides access to the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR), Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale (BCM), Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MCH), Library of Latin Texts (Series A and B), Database of Latin Dictionaries, Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources, and the International Directory of Medievalists. Can search these alone or across titles.
- Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD)Searches across twenty or more dictionaries of the Latin language (including Latin-English and Latin-French dictionaries) for ancient, medieval, or modern Latin and for selected subjects. Searches are within the dictionary entries or by the CLTO classification of lemmas (word roots) and may be filtered by selected dictionaries.
- Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources (DMLBS)The most comprehensive dictionary of Medieval Latin to have been produced and the first ever to focus on British Medieval Latin, DMLBS covers a particularly long period stretching from Gildas (fl. 540) to William Camden (1600). It is based on the close reading of thousands of Medieval Latin texts, both literary and documentary.
- Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH)Comprehensive series of carefully edited and published primary sources, both chronicle and archival, for the study of German history from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500
Web Portals for Medieval Studies
-
Voice of the Shuttle Webpage for Humanities Research page (Univ of Calif Santa Barbara). An excellent compilation of academic websites for all humanities subjects. Although there is not a separate Medieval or Renaissance studies page, searching these terms in the VoS search box will return a list of links across the humanities devoted to these time periods.
-
The Labyrinth (Georgetown University) provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne's thread through the maze of information on the Web.
-
NetSERF: Medieval History (Catholic University of America) Medieval resources, including much full-text, grouped by subject category.NetSERF's unique Hypertext Medieval Glossary includes over 1500 terms defined, covering all aspects of medieval life and spanning the medieval world, many terms are linked together so that one can get the best understanding possible.
-
WWW-Virtual Library History page is a collection of links to academic websites for History. Subcategories include: History by Continent/Country and History by Eras and Epochs.
