Subject Guides

ENG 571A: Manuscripts, Media, Materiality

A guide to get you started on your research for Manuscripts

Guide Contents

Subject Librarian

Mary Tuttle

Contact:

mtuttle@binghamton.edu
LN 2303

(607) 777-4913

Subjects: German & Russian Studies, History, Medieval, Renaissance & Early Modern Studies, Middle Eastern & Ancient Mediterranean Studies, Russian & East European Studies

Other Resources

Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies (Binghamton University)

Introduction

The journal databases below are starting point for your research. They include a mix of general academic databases, such as JSTOR, and subject-specific databases such as Historical Abstracts and the international Medieval Bibliography. Using multiple databases is a good search strategy: subject specific databases have more specialized indexing, facilitating searches for specialized topics; every journal isn't available in every database - using multiple databases increases the number of journals you are searching; using multiple databases facilitates interdisciplinary research.

Journal Databases for Academic Articles on Medieval - Modern Manuscripts

JSTOR
An essential resource for research, JSTOR contains more than 12 million full-text academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Note: while the full text of every journal always goes back to the first issue, the most recent issues are usually not in JSTOR. To find the most recent issues, check the Library catalog (Find It).
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Includes such topics as world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955; and 350 of them in full text.
International Medieval Bibliography
Leading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500), provides records to articles, scholarly notes, etc. on all aspects of medieval studies and covering publications in over 30 languages. Click on "Enter Databases."
Academic Search Ultimate
An excellent "all-purpose" academic journal databases, Academic Search Ultimate contains over 11,000 journals across all fields of study. Early Medieval Europe,
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Subjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations are included.
Annee Philologique
An exhaustive index of periodicals, books and festschriften in classics and classical studies. Coverage: 1969 - 2 years ago.
It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world.

Last Updated: Oct 4, 2023 11:08 AM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/c.php?g=1017241
Print Page

Tags: history