ENG 571A: Manuscripts, Media, Materiality

Digitized Medieval Manuscripts (DMMapp) is a database that links to hundreds of repositories across the world that contain freely available digitized medieval manuscripts. The data collected by the DMMapp is crowdsourced and updated constantly.

A Latin text (meta-)repository and tool under way of development. Users should take into account that some functions do not yet work satisfactorily. This Corpus Córporum is being developed at the University of Zurich under the direction of Ph. Roelli, Institute for Greek and Latin Philology. Texts may be downloaded as TEI xml or txt-files for non-commercial use. In order to facilitate online reading, Latin words in the text can be resolved to their lemma form by clicking them.

The Internet Medieval Sourcebook includes literary and legal texts, saints' lives, and maps.

Manuscripts Online enables you to search a diverse body of online primary resources relating to written and early printed culture in Britain during the period 1000 to 1500. The resources include literary manuscripts, historical documents and early printed books which are located on websites owned by libraries, archives, universities and publishers.

The GMS spans one thousand years (600-1600) of literary production across the medieval world (Europe, North Africa, the Middle East, and Asia). It contains primarily short texts of broad interdisciplinary interest in a variety of genres, and many of the texts have not previously been translated into English.

Digitized manuscripts in the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge

One of the consequences of the Thirty Years' War was that the most important collection of books in the 17th century Holy Roman Empire, the Bibliotheca Palatina, was divided between two principal locations: Heidelberg and the Vatican. Since 2001, Heidelberg University Library has been working on several projects that aim to digitize parts of this great collection, the final goal being a complete virtual reconstruction of the 'mother of all libraries'.

The Manuscriptorium project is creating a virtual research environment providing access to all existing digital documents in the sphere of historic book resources (manuscripts, incunabula, early printed books, maps, charters and other types of documents). These historical resources, otherwise scattered in various digital libraries around the world, are now available under a single digital library interface. The service provides seamless access to more than 5 million digital images.

Image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.

Centralized site to collect and disseminate basic information about digitized medieval manuscripts available on the web.