Browzine and LibKey

Guide on BrowZine and LibKey Products: Tools to make your electronic library access easier

What is LibKey Nomad?

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that identifies and allows access to Binghamton University Libraries-subscribed articles on the web.


When you land on a page that contains Libraries-subscribed content, a Libkey Nomad icon appears in the lower left-hand corner of your browser that allows you to click into the PDF. It works great on journal publisher sites like Elsevier or journal sites like Nature. It also has additional functionality in databases like PubMed and in Wikipedia (scroll down for more information).

LibKey Icon on Nature.com Article

How do I get LibKey Nomad?

Go to the LibKey Nomad link at https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/ to download the extension to your web browser.

Choose Binghamton University as your school and activate the extension while you browse the web.

Library Select in Nomad

LibKey Nomad Across Library Databases and the Web

In addition to publisher Websites, LibKey Nomad has some functionality in some library databases and the Web. A LibKey Nomad "Download PDF" button will appear after the citations that full text is available for through the Libraries. An "Article Link" button may appear for citations that are from sources that do not support linking directly to the PDF. For articles not available from the Libraries, an "Access Options" button will appear that provides options for requesting the articles through Interlibrary Loan. Additionally, databases will provide a BrowZine link for journals the library subscribes to.

PubMed

In PubMed, LibKey Nomad provides full-text links in the search results screen.

LibKey in PubMed Results

Web of Science

In Web of Science, LibKey Nomad provides access points to scholarly journals in the search results screen.

LibKey Nomad Icon in Web of Science results

 

Embase

In Embase, LibKey Nomad provides access points to scholarly journals in the search results screen.

LibKey Nomad icons in Embase results

Wikipedia

In Wikipedia, LibKey Nomad provides access points to scholarly journals in the references list.

LibKey Nomad in Wikipedia Reference List