Subject Guides

Political Science

Databases, datasets, and web sites.

Guide Contents

Search Tip: Multi-database searching

Learn how to search multiple databases at one time.

Selected databases

Political Science Complete
Scholarly articles and other literature that is international in scope covering all areas of Political Science.
Indexes and abstracts more than 800 journals in Political Science, providing full-text for approximately 500. Also provides full-text of more than 36,000 conference papers, including the papers of the International Political Science Association.
PAIS Index
Covers issues in public affairs and policy issues through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. Coverage: 1915 - present.
Covers journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
JSTOR
Contains a variety of social science titles. Journal archive and does not cover current journal issues.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Coverage of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Coverage: 1975-present.
Google Scholar
Provides citations of scholarly literature from a wide variety of sources. Especially strong in the fields of sciences, technology and medicine, but starting to gain more social science content.
Web of Science
Covers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Also includes BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovation Index. Medline (1950-present), Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Zoological Records.
Annual Reviews
Social Sciences review articles (dating back to when the annual review began) summarizing the current state of research on a subject by organizing, synthesizing, and critically evaluating the relevant literature.
Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences review articles (dating back to when the annual review began). Most articles provide an exhaustive bibliography. Browse or search individual titles of the Annual Reviews for the Biomedical Sciences, Physical Sciences, or Social Sciences. Use the Bibliographic Search to search for citations only from all Annual Reviews publications. Coverage: 1932 - present.
Peace Research Abstracts
Covers essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage: 1964-present.
Brill's Encyclopaedia of Islam (Third Edition)
Comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world. An essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
Includes the 2nd and 3rd edition, Atlas and Glossary.If there is technical issues, empty browser history and cookies, then restart browser. If you still experience issues, report on Technical Help Reporting Form

More Political Science Databases
For a full list of databases relevant to Political Science, please see the Political Science database page.

Legal and Related

For more resources, see Legal Resources or Government Information

Constitute
Full-text of current constitutions, revisions and amendments. (University of Texas at Austin)
Replaces the Constitution Finder at University at Richmond )ct, 2017.
ProQuest Congressional
Acccess to information and publications by and about the U.S. Congress, including bills, laws, hearings, prints, reports, documents. It also includes an index of congressional publications since 1970, legislative histories, testimony from hearings, bill tracking, and information about members of Congress, their voting record and campaign finance data. Earliest coverage goes back to 1970.
In addition to the Basic Subscription, BU Libraries has access to the full text of the Congressional Record and its predecessor publications from 1789-present, the Congressional Serial Set from 1789-2010, Serial Set maps from 1789-present, Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1932, and Congressional Research Service reports.

UN Bibliographic Information System
Catalog of United Nations (UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library.

Nexis Uni
Contains laws, Supreme Court Documents, law reviews, and related resources.
Includes full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; articles and data on businesses, corporations, industries and markets in the U.S. and abroad; magazines and trade journals; biographical information and special directories; legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Westlaw
Extensive coverage of legal materials including case law, statutes, and regulations for the U.S. government and the states. Includes Supreme Court briefs and petitions, United States Code Annotated and secondary legal sources such as American Jurisprudence 2d, American Law Reports, and law reviews.
Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law. Also includes news, broadcast transcripts, and limited business content.