*Statistics & Census Data

Census Guides

  • Census Index (Ohio State University Libraries)
    Searchable database providing descriptions of census publications from 1790 to 1997. Provides Sudoc numbers and URLs whenever possible.|

  • Dubester's U.S. census bibliography with SuDocs class numbers and indexes (Bartle Library HA214 .C66 1996)
    Covers 1790-1945

  • America census handbook (Bartle Library  CS49 .K4 2001)
    A general guide to the thousands of published census indexes currently available in print and online

  • Subject index to Current Population reports and other population report series  (Bartle Library HA203.M67 1996)

  • Census catalog and guide. (Gov Docs C 3.163/3: yr; online 1949-1998)
    Describes data products and publications from the Census Bureau, including geographic scope of the information.

  • A researcher's guide to the 1980 Census (Bartle Reference HA201 1980 .R43)

  • Population information in the twentieth century census volumes, 1900-1940 (Bartle Library HA214 .S382 1985)

  • State census records (Bartle Reference HA214 .L34 1992)

  • New York State censuses & substitutes (Bartle Reference HA545 .D65 2005)

Decennial Census Reports

Other Key Sources

In addition to the sources listed below, the Government Documents collection in the Bartle Library has a wide array of older Census records which can be found using the library catalog.

Peruse the census guides above to help locate specific reports, then check the library catalog to see if BU owns it.

Genealogy

Census Bureau

Binghamton University has a limited run of the run of the Manuscript Census for the United States and New York State. For more information, consult the following guides:

For further genealogical assistance in the Broome County area, see:

 

Subject Librarian

Dave Vose's picture
Dave Vose
Contact:
Bartle Library: 777-4907

Downtown Center: 777-9275