Subject Guides
Japanese Studies
Guide Contents
Reference Books
- Japan : an illustrated encyclopediaCall Number: Bartle Library Reference (DS805 .J263 1993 )ISBN: 4069310983
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture by Call Number: Bartle Library Reference (DS822.5 .E516 2002 )ISBN: 0415143446
Handbook of Japanese Popular Culture by
Born out of the editor's inability to find a suitable book for teaching the subject, this is a welcome title. . . . a fine contribution in a field where works in English are seriously lacking. "Choice" "The Handbook of Japanese Popular Culture" provides a convenient and efficient guide to the prevalent ways of life, recreations, and artistic creations of contemporary Japan. Designed for the general reader as well as the specialist in Japanese culture. The areas explored are those that have proven to be of durable interest to the Japanese, such as sports, science fiction, and popular music, as well as passing fads and fancies. The extremely readable essays, contributed by specialists in the field, provide a wealth of interesting information, including a survey of the historical development of the topic under discussion, with special attention paid to the most useful published works in the field, followed by a guide to the research collections and reference works that should be consulted by those wishing to deepen their knowledge of the subject. Exploring the most salient aspects of Japanese popular culture, the chapters include such topics as popular architecture, new religions, popular performing arts, film, television, comics, and mystery literature. The editor's introduction suggests that the study of popular culture as a discipline with its own unique subject matter and methodology represents a form of protest against the concept of culture as a selective tradition consisting of the best that has been thought and said. This comprehensive survey of Japanese popular culture will be an essential additon to all libraries and a useful resource in the study of popular culture, sociology, Japanese history and culture, humanities, communications, and journalism.
Call Number: DS822.5 .H347 1989ISBN: 0313239223
Encyclopedia Japanese Pop Culture by
In the West, Japanese culture comes in the form of Power Rangers, Godzilla movies, and Sanrio products, but of course the indigenous pop culture is much richer. Rather than focus on what the rest of the world has already encountered, Mark Schilling provides an encyclopedic compendium of books, movies, music, comedians, and cultural scandals that have had the greatest impact in Japan. Thus, for the outsider, The Encyclopedia of Japanese Pop Culture is an insider's guide to post-war Japan. Not content to simply catalog his entries, Schilling provides real depth and analysis in his articles, opening up Japan's rich pop heritage to the world at large.
Call Number: DS822.5 .S3 1997ISBN: 0834803801
Resources from Japan
Manga and Comic Books
Cartoon cultures : the globalization of Japanese popular media by Call Number: DS822.5 .C695 2010
Fanning the Flames: : fans and consumer culture in contemporary Japan by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 0791460312Publication Date: 2004
Japanese Aesthetics and Anime by ISBN: 9781476603834Publication Date: 2012This study addresses the relationship between Japanese aesthetics, a field steeped in philosophy and traditional knowledge, and anime, a prominent part of contemporary popular culture.
CultureShock! Japan a survival guide to customs and etiquette by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780761454885Publication Date: 2008
Babylon East by ISBN: 0822392739Publication Date: 2002Sterling traces the history of the Japanese embrace of dancehall reggae and other elements of Jamaican culture, including Rastafari, roots reggae, and dub music ....
