Subject Guides

Read Online

Read Online

Chronological Chart

794 The capital is moved to Kyoto (Heian-kyō).  Seiitaishōgun is appointed to subdue the Ezo.

797 Shoku Nihongi history published.

838 Last official embassy to China.

858 Fujiwara Yoshifusa is appointed regent.

927 Engishi law codes published.

939–940 Taira-no-Masakado leads a rebellion.

1002–1019 The Tale of Genji is written.

1016 Fujiwara Michinaga is appointed regent.

1028–1031 Taira Tadatsune insurrection.

1086 The cloister government is established.

1156 Hōgen Incident.

1160 Heiji Incident.

1167 Taira-no-Kiyomori is appointed chancellor (dajō daijin).

1175 The Pure Land Sect is founded by Hōnen.

1180 Minamoto-no-Yoritomo challenges the Taira family.

1181 Taira Kiyomori dies.

1185 The Taira family falls.

Source: Hane, Mikiso, and Louis G. Perez. Premodern Japan : A Historical Survey. Vol. Second edition, Routledge, 2014.


Books in Bartle Library (Japanese)