Subject Guides
HDEV 305: Child Development: Home
Course Guide
Guide Contents
Citation Help
Visit the APA Citation Guide
or consult the APA Manual:
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
BF 76.7 .P83 2010 (6th ed)
Subject Librarian
Sarah Maximiek
her/she
Contact:
Bartle Library / maximiek@binghamton.edu / 607.777.3941
drop in help: 3-5 Tuesdays at the UDC Library / Commons
Finding Research on Child Development
- Social Sciences Full TextFull-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Coverage: 1972-present.
- Sociological AbstractsProvides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes the subset Social Services Abstracts.
- Sociology Source UltimateProvides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, and violence.
- PsycINFO (APA)Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1887-current.
- Education Source UltimateFull text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
- LGBT Source+Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 130 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionCovers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Keywords for searching
There are many ways of describing a child
- youth
- child or children
- adolescent or adolescence
- kid
Searching for a variety of terms with the word OR between each term will help with the inclusiveness of your search.
You may also want to consider using such terms as:
- Child development
- Child psychology
- Youth
- Youth -- Sexual behavior
- Adolescent
- Pediatrics
- Early childhood education
These can also be used as "SUBJECT" searches under the "Browse" or "Advanced search" options in FIND IT! to locate books.
