Subject Guides

Finance

Databases, websites, and other resources that cover finance literature and data.

Guide Contents

Gale Business: Insights
Look up your company, then click on the Financials link to access up to six years of balance sheet, income statement, and cash flow data. You can compare financials of top competitors or specific companies of your choosing.
Made available by the NOVELNY program, which makes resources available to everyone in NYS. For NYS residents outside of NYS, please see the website for more detail. For links to all NOVELNY databases, please see the NOVELNY webpage.
MarketLine Advantage
Offers a comprehensive collection of business information on company, industry and country profiles that facilitate a better understanding of the different global markets.
Covers industry and company profiles, case study reports, financial deals articles, and country reports.

Compustat
Items reported by companies in standard financial reports, such as quarterly and annual income statements, balance sheets, and cash flow statements. Both current and historical data are available. Accessed via WRDS.
CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices)
Has price data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. For research requiring large datasets. Accessed via WRDS.

Nexis Uni
Contains a wide variety of company information as well as newspaper and newswires articles.
Includes full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; articles and data on businesses, corporations, industries and markets in the U.S. and abroad; magazines and trade journals; biographical information and special directories; legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Mergent Archives
This contains company information taken from the Mergent (Moody's) Corporate Manuals. Some records go back to the 1920s. Company information for the current year is embargoed (not included), but is available in print volumes in the Bartle Reference area.
The database is in two sections: Corporate and Municipal. WebReports contain more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries using an easy-to-navigate and reliable system. Updated annually. Coverage: 1909 - 2019.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
This database provides real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds (ETFs), and closed-end funds.
Limited to two simultaneous users.

TRACE
Trade Reporting and Compliance Engine is FINRA's over-the-counter (OTC) corporate bond market real-time price dissemination service. It provides comprehensive, real-time access to corporate bond price information. Accessed via WRDS

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
The interface used to access the Compustat, CRSP, and other large financial and economic data files. Use of these files requires registration and is strictly restricted to Binghamton University faculty and students. A full listing of WRDS databases is listed on the WRDS page.

Alpha Vantage Open Stock API
Free programmatic access to US and international financial and economic datasets including stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, foreign exchange rates, cryptocurrencies, and 50+ derived technical indicators. Spreadsheet access through Excel and/or Google Sheet is also supported.

Contact:

Office 1528, Bartle Library, last one on left in the Reference area.
607-777-2621

chailey@binghamton.edu

Subjects: Cinema, Economics, Management

Subjects: Economics, Management

Tags: bonds, company, finance, industry, mutual_funds, statistics, stocks