Subject Guides

Data Analytics

Guide Contents

Big Data Resources

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
The interface used to access the Compustat, CRSP, and other large financial and economic data files. Use of these files requires registration and is strictly restricted to Binghamton University faculty and students. A full listing of WRDS databases is listed on the WRDS page.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data Archive
Provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. For more information see Data Services for Social Sciences.
Must set up an account using BU email address to download data on ICSPR site. Code books for data available on ICSPR site. ICSPR also offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.
International Financial Statistics Online
Statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance from 200+ IMF countries. Contains approximately 32,000 time series of financial and economic data.
Topics covered include exchange rates, IMF position, international liquidity, money and banking accounts, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, national accounts, and population, balance of payment. Time series data may not be provided for all countries due to differences in national development, dates of inclusion in the IMF, and information provided by each individual country. Coverage: Annual data: 1948-present; Monthly and quarterly data: 1957-present.
Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive
Covering over 200 countries and hundreds of variables, including measurements for Domestic Conflict Events, Assassinations, General Strikes, Terrorism/Guerrilla Warfare, Major Government Crises, Purges, Riots, Revolutions, and Anti-government Demonstrations. Covers from 1815-present, with exceptions for World Wars.
Data is available in Excel spreadsheets. Includes historical countries and empires that no longer exist.
OECD Social Expenditure Statistics
Includes internationally comparable statistics on public and private social expenditure at program level.
The 13 Social policy areas covered include; Old age cash benefits, Disability cash benefits, Occupational injury and disease, Sickness benefits, Services for the elderly and disabled people, Survivors, Family cash benefits, Family services, Active labour market programmes, Unemployment, Health, Housing Benefits, etc.

Eurostat
Leading provider of high quality statistics on Europe. Allows bulk downloads.
UNData
Search and download data collected by various groups across the United Nations from one interface.
Awesome Public Data Sets
Hosted by GitHub, this lists datasets by subject, e.g., Climate, Education, Healthcare, etc.

SAGE Data
A dynamic repository of officially sourced statistical data that is multi-disciplinary and global in scope.

Alpha Vantage Open Stock API
Free programmatic access to US and international financial and economic datasets including stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, foreign exchange rates, cryptocurrencies, and 50+ derived technical indicators. Spreadsheet access through Excel and/or Google Sheet is also supported. Requires (free) registration.

Subject Librarian

Colleen Hailey

Contact:

Office 1528, Bartle Library, last one on left in the Reference area.
607-777-2621

chailey@binghamton.edu

Subjects: Cinema, Economics, Management