Subject Guides
Citation Help & Academic Honesty
Guide Contents
Need more styles?
- For other style guides, do a keyword search for style manual in the Library Catalog.
Citing Sources - ACS Style
ACS Style Quick Guide
(ACS Publications):
Sample formatting for common types of materials.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication (online ebook)
This ebook has a wealth of information on how to cite materials and evaluate the chemical literature.
The ACS Style Guide by
In the time since the second edition of The ACS Style Guide was published, the rapid growth of electronic communication has dramatically changed the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) publication world. This dynamic mode of dissemination is enabling scientists, engineers, and medical practitioners all over the world to obtain and transmit information quickly and easily. An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. This extensive revision of The ACS Style Guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission of manuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet. With this wealth of new information, The ACS Style Guide's Third Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor. The Third Edition is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.
Call Number: Science Library, Reference, QD8.5 .A25 2006ISBN: 0841239991Publication Date: 2006-07-20
American Medical Association (AMA)
- American Medical Association (AMA) Style GuideGuide from the University of Washington Libraries.
AMA Manual of Style
The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates are included in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updated guidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-date on word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations. Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer to nearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style. Customers who purchase the Special Online Bundle Package receive the hardcover 11th edition, with a one-year subscription to the Online Edition. The unique access code will arrive with the hardcover book. Available for institutional purchase or subscription or individual subscription. Visit AMAManualofStyle.com or contact your sales rep for more details.
ISBN: 9780190246563Publication Date: 2020-03-02
American Political Science Association Style (APSA)
American Sociological Association (ASA)
- ASA Style and FormatFrom the libraries at Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges.
Legal Citation/Bluebook
- Introduction to Legal CitationFrom Cornell's Legal Information Institute, this guide covers citing legal information using several different guides.
Council of Science Editors
Scientific Style and Format by
For more than fifty years, authors, editors, and publishers in the scientific community have turned to Scientific Style and Format for authoritative recommendations on all matters of writing style and citation. Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), the leading professional association in science publishing, this indispensable guide encompasses all areas of the sciences. Now in its eighth edition, it has been fully revised to reflect today’s best practices in scientific publishing. Scientific Style and Format citation style has been comprehensively reorganized, and its style recommendations have been updated to align with the advice of authoritative international bodies. Also new to the eighth edition are guidelines and examples for citing online images and information graphics, podcasts and webcasts, online videos, blogs, social networking sites, and e-books. Style instructions for physics, chemistry, genetics, biological sciences, and astronomy have been adjusted to reflect developments in each field. The coverage of numbers, units, mathematical expressions, and statistics has been revised and now includes more information on managing tables, figures, and indexes. Additionally, a full discussion of plagiarism and other aspects of academic integrity is incorporated, along with a complete treatment of developments in copyright law, including Creative Commons. For the first time in its history, Scientific Style and Format will be available simultaneously in print and online at www.scientificstyleandformat.org. Online subscribers will receive access to full-text searches of the new edition and other online tools, as well as the popular Chicago Manual of Style Online Forum, a community discussion board for editors and authors. Whether online or in print, the eighth edition of Scientific Style and Format remains the essential resource for those writing, editing, and publishing in the scientific community.
Call Number: Science Library, Reference, QH304 .C33 2014ISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014-05-07
- Council of Science Editors Documentation StyleInformation on this style from the writing center at University of Wisconsin, Madison.
Society for American Archeology (SAA)
- Society for American Archeology style guideSee style guide linked to on this page.
Society for Historic Archeology (SHA)
- SHA Style Guide & Submission GuidelinesSee link on this page for SHA Springer Style Guide Oct 2016.
