Subject Guides

HIST 486L: Animals in Popular Culture

Guide Contents

MasterFILE Premier
Articles covering general interest, business, health and multi-cultural topics. Also includes the Image Collection subset.
Searchable full text for over 1,860 journals. Full text dating as far back as January 1990. Abstracts and indexing for over 2,800 journals, many dating back to 1984. Charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews.Essential Documents in American History, a database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Coverage of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal. Includes Image Collection, This subset to MasterFILE Premier provides access to worldly images relating to people, places, natural science, maps and flags. The collection contains photographs, images from Canadian Press, Maps from MapQuest, and photographs from public domain sources.

Access World News
Full text of regional and local newspapers for all US states and international sources.
Global Newsstream
Includes national papers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Also local and regional papers including the Press and Sun from Binghamton, the Ithaca Journal, and other Gannett publications. Coverage: 1980 - current
Replaces Newstand and Gannett Newstream.

America's Historical Newspapers
Fully searchable collection of founding newspapers, documenting America's past. The Libraries subscribes to Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nations and Early American Newspapers Series 10: Regional Pioneers.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals, 1691-1877
Providing digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.
Includes: Series 1 (1691-1820), Series 2 (1821-1837), Series 3 (1838-1852), Series 4 (1853-1865), and Series 5 (1866-1877).

New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
Washington Post, 1877-2006 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Historical coverage of the paper covering US political, capitol and national news. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Titles search.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020
Weekly magazine that reports on the world's political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them. Includes key economic indicators post-1983 available in exportable format. For more recent coverage, search for Economist on the Journal Titles Tab.
American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940
Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and others of historical interest.
Coverage: 1740-1900.

Keesing's World News Archive
An authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs. Coverage 1931-Present.
(London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019
Full-image online archive of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785-2019. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level. Users can easily search news articles, obituaries, advertising and classifieds.
Pravda Digital Archive, 1912-present
Full-text full-image access to the Russian newspaper, Pravda. Searching can be done with cyrillic-enabled keyboards, the databases' virtual cyrillic keyboard, or with transliteration.
Izvestiia Digital Archive, 1917-2010
The complete archive of Izvestiia, the Kremlin's newspaper of record, 1917-2010.
Naver News Library
Naver News Library is a Korean newspaper archive database.
It contains four major newspapers with fulltext:- Tonga ilbo東亞日報 = Dong-A ilbo : 1920-1999
- Kyŏnghyang sinmun 京鄕新聞 = Kyunghyang Shinmun : 1946-1999
- Maeil kyŏngje sinmun每日經濟新聞 = Maeil Business Newspaper : 1966-1999
- Han’gyŏre 한겨레 = The Hankyoreh : 1988-1999

The database enables user to perform keyword search, or search in subject or document types. Users can view the content online. Print and download function are not available at this point.

Tags: history