Subject Guides

HIST 486L: Animals in Popular Culture

Guide Contents

General History Resources

History
by Mary Tuttle Last Updated Oct 3, 2024 2196 views this year

Journal Article Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Covers over 11,000 journals in all fields of study.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Academic OneFile
Covers all subjects, searching 13,000 journals, with over 7300 peer-reviewed titles.
Made available by the NOVELNY program, which makes resources available to everyone in NYS. For NYS residents outside of NYS, please see the website for more detail. For links to all NOVELNY databases, please see the NOVELNY webpage.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Legal and Government Document Resources

Government Information Subject Guide

Legal Research Subject Guide

Catalog of Government Publications (GPO)
Primary finding tool for electronic and print publications from the federal government issued since July 1976. Records for publications dating back to the late 1800s are being added. For publications issued prior to July 1976, the Monthly Catalog should be consulted.

ProQuest Congressional
Access to legislative publications including Congressional Hearings (parts A-D), U.S. Bills and Resolutions (2014-2018), laws, reports, documents, prints, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and member and committee information.
In addition to the Basic Subscription, BU Libraries has access to the full text of the Congressional Record and its predecessor publications from 1789-present, the Congressional Serial Set from 1789-2010, Serial Set maps from 1789-present, Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1932, and Congressional Research Service reports.
Nexis Uni
NexisUni provides access to 15,000+ news, business and legal sources. If a sign-in button appears, click the button for access.
Includes full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; articles and data on businesses, corporations, industries and markets in the U.S. and abroad; magazines and trade journals; biographical information and special directories; legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Westlaw
Extensive coverage of legal materials including cases law, statutes, and regulations for the U.S. government and the states. Includes Supreme Court briefs and petitions, United States Code Annotated and secondary legal sources such as American Jurisprudence, 2d, American Law Reports, and law reviews.
Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law. Also includes news, broadcast transcripts, and limited business content.

Last Updated: May 30, 2024 2:07 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/HIST486L
Print Page

Tags: history