Subject Guides
CHEM 496 Library Resources
An overview of library resources for CHEM 496 and research in chemistry.
Guide Contents
Citing Sources - ACS Style
ACS - Citing Your Sources (Williams College)
Examples of how to cite common reference types.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication (online ebook)
This ebook has a wealth of information on how to cite materials and evaluate the chemical literature.
Mendeley
Manage and format article information for bibliographies, footnotes, etc.
1. Create an account on Mendeley.
2. Download Mendeley Citation Plug-in
(if you can) (Word, LibreOffice)
Allows you to insert citations into Word Documents.
3. Install the Mendeley Web Importer Chrome extension.
Allows you to import articles and references.
More Help: Getting Started with Mendeley video.
Handy Links from Class Discussion
More information on items mentioned in lecture:
Interlibrary Loan (Illiad): this is for requesting items not in our collections. Expected delivery times for articles is 1-2 days.
Google Scholar Citations: include profiles for many researchers with citation and other impact data.
Lazy Scholar Browser Extension: Finds free scholarly full texts, metrics, and provides quick citation and sharing links automatically.
Libkey Nomad Browser Extension: Add direct links to articles in library-licensed databases.
ORCID ID: Author profiles for researchers and article authors.
Places to search for Journal Articles and Chemical Structures
There are different tools to help you locate information in chemistry.
1. Encyclopedia: AccessScience
2. Journal article databases with structure and reaction search tools:
CAS Scifinder-n (You will get a link to register for this after the lecture. You can also email me for the registration link anytime.)
PubMed
Chemspider
3. Journal article citation databases:
Web of Science
CAS Scifinder-n
Google Scholar
- AccessScience (Encyclopedia of Science and Technology)Online version of online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Includes research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News® headlines, biographies, and more.
- American Chemical Society Publications (Web Editions)Provides full text articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society and to which we have print subscriptions. Coverage: varies by title; earliest from 1896.
- ChemSpiderChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 63 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- Google ScholarFinds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. If you use this Google Scholar link, you will be able to use the Get it link to take advantage of the Libraries' full text and InterLibrary Loan services.
- PubMedFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- CAS SciFinder-nCAS SciFinder-n provides reference, substance, reaction and supplier content and relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more.
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Learning about Chemistry and Chemical Topics on the web
There are lots of classroom materials of chemistry lectures, problem sets and exams on the web:
Khan Academy has many introductory chemistry lecture videos. Note that problem set solutions may be locked.
CrashCourse has videos on Chemistry course topics.
MIT OpenCourseWare has lectures, problem sets and exams online.
UCI Open has lectures, problems and solutions in individual lectures.
Periodic Table of Videos covers many chemical topics.
Alternative Periodic Tables you may not have seen.
Periodic Table parodies on a variety of themes.
