CHEM 496 Library Resources

An overview of library resources for CHEM 496 and research in chemistry.

Guide Contents

Citing Sources - ACS Style

ACS - Citing Your Sources (Williams College)
Examples of how to cite common reference types.

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication (online ebook)
This ebook has a wealth of information on how to cite materials and evaluate the chemical literature. 

Mendeley
​Manage and format article information for bibliographies, footnotes, etc.

1. Create an account on Mendeley.
2. Download Mendeley Citation Plug-in 
(if you can) (Word, LibreOffice)

Allows you to insert citations into Word Documents.
3. Install the Mendeley Web Importer Chrome extension.
Allows you to import articles and references.

More Help: Getting Started with Mendeley video.

Handy Links from Class Discussion

More information on items mentioned in lecture on August 26:

Lazy Scholar Browser Extension: Finds free scholarly full texts, metrics, and provides quick citation and sharing links automatically.

Libkey Nomad Browser Extension: Add direct links to articles in library-licensed databases.

ORCID ID: Author profiles for researchers and article authors. 

 

Places to search for Journal Articles and Chemical Structures

This list includes different tools to help you locate information in chemistry.

There is one encyclopedia source
AccessScience

There are journal article databases with structure and reaction search tools:
Scifinder Scholar, PubMed, and Chemspider

There are three tools to search for journal article citations:
Web of Science, Scifinder, and Google Scholar

Note: Scifinder Scholar requires registration.
Please email ebrown@binghamton.edu for the URL.

Learning about Chemistry and Chemical Topics on the web

There are lots of classroom materials of chemistry lectures, problem sets and exams on the web:

The video below is from one of the many collections from the Royal Institution's RI Channel  in the UK. 

Khan Academy has many introductory chemistry lecture videos. Note that problem set solutions may be locked.

CrashCourse has videos on Chemistry course topics.

MIT OpenCourseWare has lectures, problem sets and exams online.

UCI Open has lectures, problems and solutions in individual lectures.

Periodic Table of Videos covers many chemical topics.

Alternative Periodic Tables you may not have seen.

Periodic Table parodies on a variety of themes.

 

Subject LIbrarian

Profile Photo
Elizabeth Brown
she/her
Contact:
Library Administration, LS2504C Glenn G Bartle Library
607-777-4882 (office)