Genealogy

Major Family History Websites

  • Ancestry.com - Commercial website. An online family history resource. A paid subscription is required, but also offers a limited free trial.

Several New York repositories have formed a partnership with Ancestry.com to digitize family history records and make them available on line for free. The list of records available is located in the bottom left corner of the Ancestry.com New York web page. Descriptions of the records as well as the holding organizations are provided through the links and logos on the Ancestry.com New York web page. How do I sign-up? Free access to Ancestry.com New York is available to New York State residents. This access requires a free Ancestry.com New York account. Go to the New York State Archives Ancestry.com partnership web page to begin.

 

  • Ancestry Library Edition BU-ONLY Access  Genealogy research tool that includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. Note: This edition does not have all the features of the regular edition.  See the article for information.        
  • FamilySearch - Historically known as the Genealogical Society of Utah, which was founded in 1894, is dedicated to preserving historical and genealogical records and helping people connect with their ancestors through easy access to historical records.  FamilySearch works together with records custodians to help them provide timely, economic, secure, and broad access to their records while maintaining access control and identity. The collections of FamilySearch include documents such as civil registration records; church records; and probate, census, land, tax, and military records. The collection also contains compiled sources such as family histories, clan and lineage genealogies, oral pedigrees, and local histories.

Databases By Location

  • The USGenWeb Project.  We are a group of volunteers working together to provide free genealogy websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. This Project is non-commercial and fully committed to free genealogy access for everyone.
     
  • GenUKI. A similar website for the United Kingdom & Ireland.

Census Records

Historical City Directores

  • Ancestry Library Edition BU-ONLY Access Ancestry is home to an extensive collection of city and area directories. Directories typically contain entries for working family members and include name, occupation, and home and business addresses. You may find street directories, lists of advertisements (which may include your ancestor’s business), lists of government officials, charitable organizations, churches, cemeteries, hotels, maps, and much more.  Directories typically contain the name of the person, home and business addresses, and their occupation.  These records are helpful in placing your ancestor in a specific location in a particular year. Use that information to expand your search and seek out other local records that may have been created while your ancestor lived there.

            

 

U.S. Military Records

 

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Yvonne Deligato
Contact:
Special Collections - Bartle Library
LN-2326
607-777-6459
deligato@binghamton.edu
Special Collections website