Genealogy

Local

• Broome County Local History Center, located at the Broome County Public Library
  The Center incorporates the local history and genealogy holdings of the Broome County Public Library, the Broome County Historical Society, the Broome County Historian and the City of Binghamton Historian.
   
• Four County Library System
  This library system includes local libraries in Broome, Chenango, Delaware, and Otsego Counties. Click "Library Information" at the top of the page for each library's website and contact information.
   
• Steele Memorial Library Genealogy Collection
  Located in Elmira, this collection includes numerous important publications in print and on microfilm which will be useful for genealogical research.
   

New York State

• New York State Library Local History and Genealogy Section
  Along with significant holdings of genealogical material and records, the State Library's genealogy website includes a number of helpful guides to getting started with genealogical research, as well as to various different types of records.
   
• New York State Archives
  Responsible for preserving and providing access to colonial and state records of New York. Their Genealogy page provides shortcuts to relevant records.
   
• New York State Department of Health Genealogy Records & Resources
  Describes records available from the New York State Department of Health for genealogy research and how to obtain them.
   
• New York Public Library Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy
  The NYPL holds extensive genealogical collections, and provides access to numerous electronic resources and databases. Any resident of New York State over the age of 13 can obtain an NYPL library card.
   
• Cornell University Genealogy Guide
  Provides many useful links to genealogical resources and tools.
   

United States

• Library of Congress Local History & Genealogy Reference Services
  This division of the Library of Congress provides information about resources and databases available onsite at the Library of Congress.
   
• National Archives & Records Administration Resources for Genealogists
  Provides information on accessing records held by NARA, and offers numerous topical guides and informational pages.
   
• American Ancestors/New England Historic Genealogical Society
  This membership-based society provides access to numerous digital resources and genealogical publications.