Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- Voting, elections & the electoral process
- Voting patterns & results
Voting, elections & the electoral process
Guide Contents
Starting points
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data ArchiveContains large data sets covering voting patterns and voting turnout at the national, state and international levels. For more information on how to use this source, see Data Services for Social Sciences.
- Social ExplorerAllows users to create maps and reports from some ICSPR data sets of election results. Use the "data definitions" towards the bottom of the page to see what is available.
- Voting and Registration (U.S. Census Bureau)A summary, with links, of the various data sets and reports that tracks various socio-economic and demographic trends among voters for national elections.
National and state level results
- David Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
Presidential election data, starting in 1789. Includes data covering electoral college, electional results and primary election data by state, town and voting district.
- Voting and Registration (U.S. Census Bureau)
A summary, with links, of the various data sets and reports that tracks various socio-economic and demographic trends among voters for national elections.
- Daily KOS Elections Blog
- Provides returns on elections across the U.S., as well as related news stories.
- Election Statistics
Official vote counts for presidential and congressional elections by state, 1920-present. In pdf or html.
- United States Electronic Assistance Commission
Collects and analyzes data relating to the processed and procedures of voting, absentee and oversea ballots, and voting registstration and turnout statistics from 1960 -
- Voter Turnout in the US, 1788-2009
(ebook)
Traces state and national level aggregate data for national races, primaries, and state governor races.
- Voting America (University of Richmond)
Offers visual maps that reflect election results, from 1980 forward.
- United States Gubernatorial Elections, 1912-1931: The Official Results by State and County. (ebook)
Handbook of statistical tables, arranged state by state.
- United States Gubernatorial Elections, 1932-1952: The Official Results by State and County
(ebook)
Handbook of statistical tables, arranged state by state.
(ebook)Local and precinct level results
- Broome County Board of Elections
Provides data dating back to 2005 for voter turnout by district and registration rates.
- NYS Board of Elections
Provides election results (back to 1994) and enrollment statistics - Censtats USA Counties
Total votes cast for president by county, 1980-2008, from the U.S. Census Bureau. Select "Elections (CQ Press)" from the drop-down menu and download as CSV or TXT file for each state, or go directly to Data File Downloads to download in Excel format for the entire U.S. - Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
Presidential election data, starting in 1789. Includes data covering electoral college, electional results and primary election data by state, town and voting district. - Harvard Election Data Archive
Precinct-level results for U.S. elections, federal and state, since 2000. These are linked to GIS boundary files of voting tabulation districts and 2000 and 2010 census blocks. - Mayoral Elections (U.S. Conference of Mayors)
A database of mayoral elections across the U.S., back to 1999.
- Full list of state election boards
State election boards will often list recent election results, voter turnout and other data.
