Subject Guides
Comparative Literature
Here are links to databases, dictionaries, and other useful sites for students and researchers.
Using Kanopy
If you are an instructor or faculty, please read Requesting a Title in Kanopy before you assign a title for your class.
Using Videos in Instruction
For more information on using videos in your instruction, including copyright restrictions, please visit our libguide on using streaming video by clicking here.
Databases With Video Content
- Academic Video Online AVONAcademic Video Online offers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical ExaminationTeaching resource consisting of 18 anatomy and system specific videos. Each video shows a step-by-step examination. Each module shows step-by-step examinations with rationales for the clinician's actions and contains expanded discussions of health history taking, interviewing, and describing findings.
- Black Studies CenterHistorical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Materials includes newspapers, dissertations, abolitionist papers, and oral interviews. See the Binghamton University Libraries Center for the 1960s.
- Global Environmental Justice CollectionCurated collection of films that exlores the intersections of human rights, environmental degradation, colonization, industrial development, and climate change.
- Human Rights Studies OnlineA research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
- KanopyIncludes films from suppliers including California Newsreel, Green Planet Films, PBS, New Day Films, HBO Documentaries, First Run, FilmRise, and others. Faculty and Instructors: read Requesting a title in Kanopy before assigning a film to your class.
- Theatre in Video (Volume I)Live video of the original productions of some of the most important theatre performances of the 20th century.
- Theatre in Video (Volume II)Brings together 400 hours of new, international, and contemporary performances; ground-breaking documentaries; and critical instructional series for theatre and drama programs across the globe.
- Journal of Visualized ExperimentsJoVE, JoVE for Biology and JoVE for NeuroSciences all present research and lab experiments in the fields with video demonstrations.
Using Find it!
By starting with a general term or keyword, it is possible to narrow down a search to video options using the Find it! search box on the Libraries' home page by applying the filters on the left side of the screen.
On the left side of the screen, look for the AVAILABILITY filter, and select "Full Text Online." Then under MATERIAL TYPE, select "Audio Visual." You may need to click on the "Show More" link in the MATERIAL TYPE filter to see the Audio Visual option.
Commerical Sites
Commercial pay for view services, such as Amazon Prime, Netflix and Hulu, often restrict the use of their services to personal use only. Under fair use, this would prohibit the streaming of this content in the classroom.
However, it does not prohibit the assignment of such material to watch through personal accounts outside of the classroom. As with all online material, accessibility issues and cost to the student(s) should be considered.
These sites allow you to quickly determine where content may be available.
Open Access & Freely Available Steaming Video
- UniveristyVideosMetasearch .edu, .gov and .org videos (including TED videos). Also allows searching of all the video transcripts.
- Civil Rights Digital LibraryRich list of visual and moving images relating to the U.S. Civil Rights movement that are freely available to use.
- Paramount VaultParamount Movies Youtube channel for full length, freely available featured films. Many are closed captioned.
- Open Video ProjectArchive of videos from .gov sites such as NASA and Library of Congress
- EVIA Digitial ArchiveEthnographic Video For Instruction and Analysis (EVIA) provides videos representing performance traditions from around the world. Users will need to create an account to view.
- American Memory Collection: Moving Images Research CenterSeveral hundred early motion pictures covering the earliest part of American history, including moving images from Edison's library.
