Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- Middle Eastern and Ancient Mediterranean Studies
- Ancient Mediterranean & Classical Studies
Middle Eastern and Ancient Mediterranean Studies
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Books from the Library Collection
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
The new Oxford Classical Dictionary consists of a continuously growing collection of over 6,500 entries with new and revised entries published online on a monthly basis. OCD has a broader chronological, geographical, and cultural reach than the fourth edition, featuring new articles on gender studies, Late Antiquity, Christianity, Jewish studies, Near East, Bronze Age, linguistics, and reception.
The approach is interdisciplinary: all areas, regions, and cultures are represented beyond the core areas of Greece and Rome. As well as providing factual information, the Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, and ecology. The text is written in an accessible style and all Latin and Greek words have been translated.
ISBN: 9780199381135Publication Date: 2015 - Present
The Atlas of Ancient Rome by
The most authoritative illustrated reference book on the urban history of ancient Rome The Atlas of Ancient Rome provides a comprehensive archaeological survey of the city of Rome from prehistory to the early medieval period. Lavishly illustrated throughout with full-color maps, drawings, photos, and 3D reconstructions, this magnificent two-volume slipcased edition features the latest discoveries and scholarship, with new descriptions of more than 500 monuments, including the Sanctuary of Vesta, the domus Augusti, and the Mausoleum of Augustus. It is destined to become the standard reference for scholars, students, and anyone interested in the history of the city of Rome. The Atlas of Ancient Rome is monumental in scope. It examines the city's topography and political-administrative divisions, trade and economic production, and social landscape and infrastructure--from residential neighborhoods and gardens to walls, roads, aqueducts, and sewers. It describes the fourteen regions of Rome and the urban history of each in unprecedented detail, and includes profiles and reconstructions of major monuments and works of art. This is the only atlas of the ancient city to incorporate the most current archaeological findings and use the latest mapping technologies. Authoritative and easy to use, The Atlas of Ancient Rome is the definitive illustrated reference book on Rome from its origins to the sixth century AD. Fully updated from the Italian edition to include the latest discoveries and scholarship Features a wealth of maps, illustrations, and 3D reconstructions Covers Rome's topography, economy, urban infrastructure, and more Includes profiles of major monuments and works of art Draws on the latest archaeological findings and mapping technologies Twenty years in the making by a team of leading experts
Call Number: DG63 .A8513 2017ISBN: 9780691163475Publication Date: 2017
The Fragments of the Roman Historians by
The Fragments of the Roman Historians is a definitive and comprehensive edition of the fragmentary texts of all the Roman historians whose works are lost. Historical writing was an important part of the literary culture of ancient Rome, and its best-known exponents, including Sallust, Livy,Tacitus, and Suetonius, provide much of our knowledge of Roman history. However, these authors constitute only a small minority of the Romans who wrote historical works from around 200 BC to AD 250. In this period we know of more than 100 writers of history, biography, and memoirs whose works nolonger survive for us to read. They include well-known figures such as Cato the Elder, Sulla, Cicero, and the emperors Augustus, Tiberius, Claudius, Hadrian, and Septimius Severus.Beginning with a detailed introduction explaining the history of scholarly research on the subject, the principles and methods used in editing the fragmentary texts, the literary style of the historians, and a surevy of the secondary texts that cite and preserve the fragments of the lost works,these three volumes bring together everything that is known about these historians and their works. Volume one provides an introduction to each historian, outlining what is known of their life and works. Volume two sets out the critical text with facing English translation, and volume three offers adetailed and up-to-date commentary on each of the historical fragments. The work also lists the full concordances with previous editions and contains detailed indexes.Undertaken as a collaborative research project by a team of ten UK-based scholars, this work will become an important and standard text for anyone working on the Roman historians and ancient history.
ISBN: 9780199277056Publication Date: 2014
Databases
- Annee PhilologiqueAn exhaustive index of periodicals, books and festschriften in classics and classical studies. Coverage: 1969 - 2 years ago.
- Loeb Classical LibraryA fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.
- Perseus Classics CollectionFeatures several hundred works of classical Greek and Roman authors, both in the original language and in translation (mostly older but standard editions such as the Loeb). It also includes the Latin Vulgate, the Greek New Testament, and an English Bible text. From Tufts University.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)Comprehensive digital collection that includes all extant works of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. You must login to use the Full Corpus.
- Translated Texts for Historians E-LibraryContains major historic texts dating from from 300 to 800 A.D. translated into English. The collection is organized into topical volumes.
- Brill's New Pauly OnlineUnrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world, covering more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
- Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR)Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR) is an open access journal founded in 1990. It publishes peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies including classical archaeology. This journal is the second oldest online humanities scholarly journal.
- Classical Latin Texts (Packard Humanities Institute)A collection of digital texts of major Latin authors searchable by Author, Word, or Concordance display.
- Suda OnlineA 10th century Byzantine Greek historical encyclopedia of the ancient Mediterranean world, derived from the scholia to critical editions of canonical works and from compilations by yet earlier authors. The purpose of the Suda On Line is to open up this stronghold of information by means of a freely accessible, keyword-searchable, XML-encoded database with translations, annotations, bibliography, and automatically generated links to a number of other important electronic resources.
Web Portals for Classical Studies
- Internet Ancient History SourcebookA collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts organized topically and geographically. Contains many primary sources and translations.
- The Ancient World Online (AWOL)The AWOL Index: The bibliographic data presented herein has been programmatically extracted from the content of AWOL - The Ancient World Online (ISSN 2156-2253) and formatted in accordance with a structured data model.
- LacusCurtius: Into the Roman WorldA large site on Roman antiquity with full text (some with translations) of gazetteers, source texts, and secondary works.
- Nomisma.orgA collaborative project to provide stable digital representations of numismatic concepts according to the principles of Linked Open Data. These take the form of http URIs that also provide access to reusable information about those concepts, along with links to other resources.
- Online Coins of the Roman Empire (OCRE)Online Coins of the Roman Empire (OCRE), a joint project of the American Numismatic Society and the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University, is a revolutionary new tool designed to help in the identification, cataloging, and research of the rich and varied coinage of the Roman Empire. The project records every published type of Roman Imperial Coinage from Augustus in 31 BC, until the death of Zeno in AD 491. This is an easy to use digital corpus, with downloadable catalog entries, incorporating over 43,000 types of coins.
- PHI Greek InscriptionsPHI Searchable Greek Inscriptions. A scholarly tool in progress for viewing and searching inscriptions organized by region.
- Voice of the ShuttleA comprehensive index to academic, scholarly websites in Classical studies. The full Voice of the Shuttle websites has separate pages for all humanities disciplines. See also the page on Archaeology.
General Academic Databases with Classical Studies Content
- ARTstorDigital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. For assistance, contact Emily Creo.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineOver 180,000 full-text books based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
