CDCI 200: Career Exploration Course

Searching for articles using Find it! has lots of benefits:

• Allows for searching across journals and other materials arranged around related subjects and themes.
• Quickly search for items by subject headings or descriptors to allow for more targeted results.
• Advanced search screens allow for combining multiple search terms using AND, OR, and NOT for better results
• Can often combine databases to allow keyword searching across more than one discipline
• When articles are not available full-text in the database, use to see if the article is available full-text in print or in another database
• If the full-text is not available, use to submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request for the article so we can get it for you from another library

Why use a database to find a journal article?

• Allows for searching across journals and other materials arranged around related subjects and themes.
• Quickly search for items by subject headings or descriptors to allow for more targeted results.
• Advanced search screens allow for combining multiple search terms using AND, OR, and NOT for better results
• Can often combine databases to allow keyword searching across more than one discipline
• When articles are not available full-text in the database, use to see if the article is available full-text in print or in another database

Getting started...

• Use the Browse Databases/Subject Guide  link to start browsing our databases by subject area
• Use the Places to Start list for a list of databases that cover a wide variety of subjects