Art & Design

An Artist's book is not a book about art but a work of art itself. An artist's book may be in the form of a book or a book-like structure, but it alternatively may reinvent, reconceptualize, or challenge the traditional book form. Artists' books can be one of a kind, produced in limited quantities, or even mass produced, and may be handmade, or use commercial printing methods. You will encounter artists' books made out of traditional book materials such as paper and cloth, but also those constructed with unconventional materials.

• See artists' books in action: The Walker Art Center library is sharing its collection of videos documenting artists’ books in action. There are a selection of 100 artists’ books from the Rosemary Furtak Artist Book Collection, chosen based on complexity and/or novelty of the book structure. Each is recorded being opened, read, and closed to demonstrate how they move in 60-second videos in an effort to provide greater accessibility to the collection.

• Directory of Artists' Book Collections

  A directory of artists' book collections at various institutions, primarily in the United States and Canada

• Openings : Studies in Book Art

  Journal of the College Book Art Association

• bound : unbound

  A collective of artists' book makers reflecting the diverse practices of each artist including printmaking, painting, lettering, installation and textiles

• NYPL Artists' Books Collection Highlights

  A guide with information on the collections at the New York Public Library

• Center for Book Arts (NY)

  A nonprofit dedicated to uplifting the book arts & book art, promoting active explorations of artistic practices related to the BOOK as ART

• edcat

  A tool for exploring and engaging with the fields of art and publishing meant to augment visibility for artists’ publications