Art & Design

• Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles

• Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokyo

• Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Database

This collection contains works of art and related materials from the permanent collection of The Metropolitan Museum of Art 

• Museum of Fine Arts (Boston) Images

• Centre Georges Pompidou

• Gagosian Gallery

• MoMA Digital Collection

Search more than 80,000 works from the MoMA currently available online.

• The Art Institute of Chicago

This online collection features over 45,000 images from all areas of the museum collection. 

• AIGA Design Archives

The AIGA archives and special collections serve to identify, preserve, and make collections of enduring value available to the public. With more than 20,000 selections dating back to 1924, the AIGA Design Archives is a vital record of all disciplines of communication design.

• The Whitney Museum

The Whitney's collection online provides unprecedented access to over 21,000 works by more than 3,000 artists. These works in all mediums—painting, sculpture, drawing, printmaking, photography, film, video, installation, and new media—serve as a remarkable resource for understanding art history and the creative process of artists in the United States from 1900 to today.

• Tate Modern

• Whitechapel Gallery

• Museum of Arts and Design

            The Museum’s permanent collection is global in scope and includes art, craft, and design from 1950 to the present day.

• Digital Public Library of America

• Google Art Project

An aggregate of art collections from museums around the world set in a dynamic user-friendly platform. View or create shared personal collections for research and inspiration

Photography:

• Photography at the Art Institute of Chicago

  Spanning the history of the medium from its beginning in 1839 to the present, the Art Institute's photography collection contains works of many of the medium's celebrated practitioners

• Museum of Contemporary Photography

  Collection of historical and contemporary photography - browseable by artist, searchable by keyword.

• National Archives - Digital Photography Collections

  A curated list of links to digital photography collections spanning the 19th-21st centuries.

Ceramics:

• AccessCeramics Database

  AccessCeramics is a growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists enhancing ceramics education worldwide.

Printmaking:

• NYPL: The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Print Collection

  The most accessible print room in New York City, the Print Collection of The New York Public Library encompasses a specialized reference collection of over 15,000 volumes on the history of prints and printmakers; artist clipping files; and a collection of close to 200,000 original prints, ranging from woodcuts, engravings, etchings, lithographs, and screenprints to digital prints, covering the history of the art in the West from the 15th century to the present, and Japanese prints from the 10th century to the present. The collection also includes illustrated books, artists’ books, and a small collection of drawings.

• Ukiyo-e Search

  The Ukiyo-e.org database and image similarity analysis engine, created by John Resig to aide researchers in the study of Japanese woodblock prints. The database currently contains over 213,000 prints from 24 institutions.