Subject Guides
Biography Resources
This is a guide to some of the main biographical resources available through the Libraries.
See Also
Print Works & E-books
American National BiographyCall Number: Bartle Reference E176 .A68 1998Publication Date: 1999The ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by an expert in the field and completed with a bibliography. The scope of the work is enormous--from the earlest recorded European explorations to the very recent past.
New Palgrave Dictionary of EconomicsCall Number: e-bookIncludes biographical coverage of economists worldwide.
Databases
- Contemporary AuthorsThe primary resource for information on modern authors, including those who were active prior to 1960 and whose works continue to influence contemporary literature. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
- Dictionary of Literary BiographyAccess to the Dictionary of Literary Biography series, the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook.
- MarketLine AdvantageHas extremely brief biographies (generally work history) of business executives. Search under Company, then Profile, then Key Employees.
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Obituaries can be found by restricting to Document Type but free text searching sometimes works as well. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyBiographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the 4th century BC to the 21st century.
Websites
- Biography.comSearchable database of 7,000 of the greatest names, past and present.
- Biographical MemoirsContains short biographies of deceased members of the National Academy of Sciences.
- Biographies of Women in MathematicsPart of an ongoing project by students in mathematics classes at Agnes Scott College in Atlanta, Georgia, to illustrate the numerous achievements of women in the field of mathematics.
- Biographical Directory of the U.S. CongressBiographical guide to the more than 13,000 individuals who have served in the national legislature and Continental Congress. Searchable by name, position, and state.
- Distinguished Women of Past and PresentBiographies of women who contributed to our culture.
Subject Librarian
Page maintained by C. Hailey
