Subject Guides
Africana Studies
Subject Librarian
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search UltimateA multidisciplinary database which holds over 7,000 full-text periodicals and other materials such as reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- JSTORCovers a large range of subject areas. In the Advanced Search users can limit to search only African-American and African Studies journals.
- African Journals OnlineAJOL has been working since 1998 to make African research accessible to African researchers and to the rest of the world. Journals published from developing countries are still largely excluded from the major, commercial indexing companies based in the developed Global North. As a result, African research is often invisible, and consequently there is a misapprehension that Africa does not produce much research. Millions of AJOL website users from all over the world every month prove that this is not true.
Recommended Historical Archives
- Black Studies CenterHistorical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Materials includes newspapers, dissertations, abolitionist papers, and oral interviews. See the Binghamton University Libraries Center for the 1960s.
- African American Historical Serials CollectionThis collection documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals, 1691-1877Providing digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.
- Human Rights Studies OnlineA research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and CulturePrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century,you can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- National Museum of African American History and Culture Database of CollectionExplore over 37,000 materials indexed and described by the Smithsonian.
- National Archives: African American HeritageIncludes archive materials that are Pre-Civil War, military records, and Post-Civil War materials related to African American heritage
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more.
Recommended Social Science Databases
- Sociological AbstractsProvides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes the subset Social Services Abstracts.
- Anthropology PlusThis database contains ethnographic and other relevant anthropological information.
- Women and Social Movements, International, 1840 to PresentOnline archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsA database that indexes over 1,700 titles Political Science and related fields. Over 60% of the content is from outside the United States.
- PAIS IndexCovers issues in public affairs and policy issues through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. Coverage: 1915 - present.
- GenderWatchFull-text database that focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Coverage: mid-1970s - present.
Recommended Arts & Humanities Databases
- Humanities Source UltimateUse this database to find humanities-related articles, or interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, literary works, and reviews.
- African American PoetryThe early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Human Rights Studies OnlineA research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full TextReferences literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 6,500 sources published worldwide. Includes coverage from Africa.
- Literature Online (LION)Search for a range of literature. Allows users to search for authors by nationality and ethnicity.
- Literature Resource Center
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.Includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowAccess and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location, searching more than 8000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. Includes Grove Music Online.
- Religion and Philosophy OneFile
Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- ACLS Humanities E-BookCollection of over 1400 full-text, cross searchable books covering topics of interest to historians and humanities scholars.
- American Memory ProjectPrimary source materials from The Library of Congress, includes digital items such as George Washington's letters, Civil War photographs, women suffrage materials, early maps, etc. Coverage:16th century to present; varies by collection.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more.
- Brill's Encyclopaedia of IslamComprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world. An essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. Includes the 2nd and 3rd edition, Atlas and Glossary.
Recommended Science/ Health/ Environmental Databases
- PubMedFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- MEDLINE with Full TextFull text of authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
- Environment CompleteOffers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- AGRICOLAAGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
