Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- Asian American Studies
- Hot Topic: Covid-19 and Anti-Asian Sentiment
Asian American Studies
Guide Contents
Subject Headings & Key Words
Anti-Asian racism
Anti-Asian Sentiment
Anti-Asian hate crimes
Racism
Asian American History
Chinese American History
Background & Academic Reaction
- Ho, Jennifer. Anti-Asian racism and COVID-19Jennifer Ho is professor of ethnic studies and director of the Center for Humanities & the Arts at the University of Colorado Boulder, and president of the Association for Asian American Studies.
This outline of anti-Asian racism is adapted from a slide deck that was developed to help educate people about anti-Asian racism that has emerged in the wake of the COVID-19 global pandemic. I have focused on racism in the US, but anti-Asian racism is a global phenomenon. - Baker, Brandon. Why Asian-American racism is rampant during the coronavirusProfessor of English Josephine Park discusses the history of Asian-American racism in the U.S. and how it connects to today’s use of ‘Chinese virus’ to describe COVID-19.
- STOP AAPI HATE NATIONAL REPORTThis report covers the 3,795 incidents received by the Stop AAPI Hate reporting center
from March 19, 2020 to February 28, 2021.
Agency & Organization
- Asian Pacific Policy and Planning CouncilAsian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) Civil Rights Organizations Establishes STOP AAPI Hate Reporting Center.
- Coronavirus Anti-AAPI Racism Incident ReportAsian Pacific Policy and Planning Council (A3PCON) and Chinese for Affirmative Action (CAA) have launched this reporting center to allow community members to report incidents of hate they have experienced.
- Anti-Semitism Accountability ProjectASAP has launched this submission portal in partnership with the America China Public Affairs Institute to allow individuals across the country to report bias-motivated incidents they experience during the COVID-19 pandemic.
- Redden, Elizabeth. Scholars v. COVID-19 racismScholars with expertise in Asian American studies, public health and other fields have a new urgent agenda for their teaching, research and outreach: confronting coronavirus-related racism.
- Anti-racism resources to support Asian American, Pacific Islander community Experts share resources, guidance, tools and more.NBCNews March 10, 2021 article of experts share resources on how to be anti-racist and support the Asian American and Pacific Islander, or AAPI, community.
Reactions on the Campus
Media Coverage
- Cho, John. Coronavirus reminds Asian Americans like me that our belonging is conditionalI called my parents a few nights ago to tell them to be cautious when stepping out of the house, because they might be targets of verbal or even physical abuse. It felt so strange. Our roles had flipped.
Books on Reference & History
Two Faces of Exclusion by
From the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882 to the Immigration Act of 1924 to Japanese American internment during World War II, the United States has a long history of anti-Asian policies. But Lon Kurashige demonstrates that despite widespread racism, Asian exclusion was not the product of an ongoing national consensus; it was a subject of fierce debate. This book complicates the exclusion story by examining the organized and well-funded opposition to discrimination that involved some of the most powerful public figures in American politics, business, religion, and academia. In recovering this opposition, Kurashige explains the rise and fall of exclusionist policies through an unstable and protracted political rivalry that began in the 1850s with the coming of Asian immigrants, extended to the age of exclusion from the 1880s until the 1960s, and since then has shaped the memory of past discrimination. In this first book-length analysis of both sides of the debate, Kurashige argues that exclusion-era policies were more than just enactments of racism; they were also catalysts for U.S.-Asian cooperation and the basis for the twenty-first century's tightly integrated Pacific world.
ISBN: 9781469629438Publication Date: 2016
Asian Americans by
This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on Asian Americans, comprising three volumes that address a broad range of topics on various Asian and Pacific Islander American groups from 1848 to the present day. * Presents information on Asian Americans and individual Asian ethnic groups that provides comprehensive overviews of the respective groups * Includes special topic entries that contain source information regarding major historical events * Comprises work from a truly outstanding list of contributors that include scholars, journalists, writers, community activists, graduate students, and other specialists * Expands the boundaries of Asian American studies through innovative entries that address transnationalism, gender and sexuality, and inter- and cross-disciplinarity
ISBN: 9781598842401Publication Date: 2013
Asian American Society by
Asian Americans are a growing, minority population in the United States. After a 46 percent population growth between 2000 and 2010 according to the 2010 Census, there are 17.3 million Asian Americans today. Yet Asian Americans as a category are a diverse set of peoples from over 30 distinctive Asian-origin subgroups that defy simplistic descriptions or generalizations. They face a wide range of issues and problems within the larger American social universe despite the persistence of common stereotypes that label them as a "model minority" for the generalized attributes offered uncritically in many media depictions. Asian American Society: An Encyclopedia provides a thorough introduction to the wide-ranging and fast-developing field of Asian American studies. Published with the Association for Asian American Studies (AAAS), two volumes of the four-volume encyclopedia feature more than 300 A-to-Z articles authored by AAAS members and experts in the field who examine the social, cultural, psychological, economic, and political dimensions of the Asian American experience. The next two volumes of this work contain approximately 200 annotated primary documents, organized chronologically, that detail the impact American society has had on reshaping Asian American identities and social structures over time. Features: More than 300 articles authored by experts in the field, organized in A-to-Z format, help students understand Asian American influences on American life, as well as the impact of American society on reshaping Asian American identities and social structures over time. A core collection of primary documents and key demographic and social science data provide historical context and key information. A Reader's Guide groups related entries by broad topic areas and themes; a Glossary defines key terms; and a Resource Guide provides lists of books, academic journals, websites and cross references. The multimedia digital edition is enhanced with 75 video clips and features strong search-and-browse capabilities through the electronic Reader's Guide, detailed index, and cross references. Available in both print and online formats, this collection of essays is a must-have resource for general and research libraries, Asian American/ethnic studies libraries, and social science libraries.
ISBN: 9781452281896Publication Date: 2014
Watch a video online
- The Chinese Exclusion Act A SPECIAL PRESENTATION OF AMERICAN EXPERIENCEExamine the origin, history and impact of the 1882 law that made it illegal for Chinese workers to come to America and for Chinese nationals already here ever to become U.S. citizens. The first in a long line of acts targeting the Chinese for exclusion, it remained in force for more than 60 years.
