Skip to main content

Complementary and Alternative Medicine

What is CAM?

Generally speaking, CAM refers to "health care approaches that are not typically part of conventional medical care or that may have origins outside of usual Western practice."

Refer to this National Institutes of Health (NIH) fact sheet that discusses the differences and complexities of everything that falls under CAM.

What is the Pharmacist's Role in Assessing CAM Use?

Resources for CAM information

Databases

 

Other online resources

Pharmacy Databases

More Pharmacy databases with CAM literature can also be found on the Pharmacy Library Guide and on the Libraries Database List

If you are interested in locating a particular journal you can browse the Libraries collection of Pharmacy, Therapeutics, & Pharmacology

Most databases and journals will require you to log in with your PODS if you are off campus.

Textbooks and Book Resources

 

Search Find It! on the Libraries' website to find more books on CAM. Here are some to get you started

Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad)

ILL is a free service! If BU Libraries does not have the book or article you want, ILL will allow you to get it from another library.

To use ILL, log into ILLiad at: https://illiad.lib.binghamton.edu/illiad/ and fill out the information form. Once your account is set up you can use the links for your item or fill out the form found in your ILLiad account for the item you want.

Go to the InterLibrary Loan homepage for more information on Inter-Library Loan (such as policies, due dates, etc.)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar promotes itself as a resource that provides one-stop shopping for scholarly literature. It searches across many disciplines and covers a wide variety of resources, including journal articles, theses, books, abstracts, and more. Although Google Scholar is aimed at the academic community, it uses a very broad definition of "scholarly literature." Remember that the content isn't free or necessarily available in full-text. It is important to realize that not everything, or even most, in Google Scholar is peer reviewed.

If you find an article you like that has a pay wall, don't pay - see if the library has it or request it through ILL. You can customize Google Scholar to display the Get It! link so you can get access to some articles through the library. 

The Get It! link will automatically occur in Google Scholar searches done on campus. For off campus users:

1. Go to Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com.

2. Before doing a search go into Settings. This is usually under the three bars in the upper left, but may be at the top of the page or elsewhere. Look for the gear symbol. 

3. Type "Binghamton University" in the the "Library Links" box and select "Binghamton Universit - Get It!."

Screenshot

4. Click Save. 

5. The Get It! link will now appear each time you search Google Scholar. (If you are off campus, you will need to log in once you click the Get It! link to get access.)