Federal Government

President of the U.S.

White House : Executive Office of the President | Cabinet Offices

American Presidency Project (U.C Santa Barbara) 
Very large collections of presidential papers, some back to Washington. 

Compilation of Presidential Documents 1993 - 

Presidential Directives and Executive Orders

Presidential Documents Guide (National Archives)

Presidential Libraries (via National Archives) 

Executive Orders and Proclamations since 1936, use Federal Register via LexisNexis Academic

Presidential Signing Statements

Public Papers of the Presidents (Begins with Reagan. Check Library Catalog for earlier administrations.)

Departments & Agencies

Index of U.S. Government Departments & Agencies 

Federal Agency Directory (LSU) 

The United States Government Manual 1995-present. (Bartle Library, JK 421 .A3, latest at Reference Desk).
Comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.   

CyberCemetery (UNT Libraries/GPO)
Archive of government websites that have ceased operation

Key Executive Branch Publications

Budget of the United States 
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, which may vary from year to year.

Code of Federal Regulations (FDsys) 1996-   | Code of Federal Regulations (Law Library of Congress) 1938-1995
Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis. 

Economic Report of the President 
Annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations. Documents are available in ASCII text and Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF), with many of the tables also available for separate viewing and downloading as spreadsheets in Microsoft Excel (XLS).

Federal Register (FDSys) 1994-  |  Federal Register (Law Library of Congress) 1936-1993
The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, Sunshine Act meetings, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. 

Plum Book (United States Government Policy and Supporting Positions) 
The Plum Book is a listing of over 9,000 civil service leadership and support positions (filled and vacant) in the Legislative and Executive branches of the Federal Government that may be subject to noncompetitive appointments. These positions include agency heads and their immediate subordinates, policy executives and advisors, and aides who report to these officials. 

U.S. Government Manual 
The official handbook of the Federal Government. This special edition of the Federal Register is currently updated to provide comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.  The Government Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.

Subject Librarian

Dave Vose's picture
Dave Vose
Contact:
Bartle Library: 777-4907

Downtown Center: 777-9275