Subject Guides
Federal Government
Executive, legislative, and judicial research tools and sources.
Guide Contents
Related Sources
Key Databases
- Catalog of Government Publications (GPO)Primary finding tool for electronic and print publications from the federal government issued since July 1976. Updated daily. The CGP was originally the online counterpart of the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Records for publications dating back to the late 1800s are being added. For publications issued prior to July 1976, the Monthly Catalog should be consulted.
- Congress.govBills and Resolutions, Congressional Record, Committee Reports, House Committee Live Streams, Presidential Nominations, and Treaties. (Replaces Thomas.gov)
- Metalib (GPO)Search numerous U.S. federal government catalogs, reference databases, digital repositories or subject-based Web gateways simultaneously. Coverage varies. List of available resources to search.
- ProQuest CongressionalComprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws.
The Libraries own the following collections (See coverage chart for details): Basic Collection, Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection, Part A, Congressional Research Digital Collection, Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, Parts A & Part B, Unpublished Hearings Digital Collection, Parts A & B, U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection (Serial Set 1 & 2, Serial Set Maps Digital Collection) - Science.govA gateway to information resources at the U.S. government science agencies. Includes selected web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.
- USA.govOfficial web portal of the U.S. Government. Find information from federal, state, and local government web sites.
- U.S. Declassified Documents OnlineThis collection is made up of U.S. government documents obtained from presidential libraries. These libraries receive declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others.
- HathiTrustDigitized materials from member institutions and libraries are freely available to the public for items not under copyright restrictions (generally pre-1923 and most government documents). Downloading and other functions may be limited.
- HeinOnline Government, Politics and LawExtensive coverage of legal journals, treatises, legislative histories, federal laws (1925-), federal regulations (1938-), presidential documents, all U.S. treaties, and world constitutions. Also includes special law collections on slavery, women, religion and the Gun Regulation and Legislation in America database. Additional federal materials are included. Contains 80 million+ pages of content across 80,000 titles and 195,000 volumes.
