Skip to main content

Africana Studies

Gateways To Additional Resources

 

Africa Resource

Africa Resource 

A portal with links to several online peer-reviewed journals, as well as bibliographies, poetry, biographies, autobiographies, and news items dealing with Africa and the diaspora. Binghamton University Professor Nkiru Nzegwu is one of the site's creators. (Africa Resource Center)

MPI

MPI Data Hub 

Provides data collected by the non-profit think tank Migration Policy Institute based in Washington, DC. Includes numerous maps generated from US Census data and international sources on immigration, refugees, migration, remittances, etc. in the U.S. and abroad. Includes links to the Migration Information Source and several MPI policy papers. (Migration Policy Institute)

African American Experience 

Residents of New York state and state employees may apply for a New York State Library card, which will enable access to this database. Covers African American culture and history, including entries from several African American encyclopedias, WPA narratives, primary source documents, and digitized books and articles. (New York State Library)

Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP)

"The Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP), founded in 1963, is a joint effort by research libraries throughout the world and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications and archives concerning the nearly fifty nations of Sub-Saharan Africa. CAMP also aims to make these materials in microform available to researchers."

African Population Database

African Population Database Documentation 

A report on how the population data was compiled. Also includes a link for you to request the ability to download the data. Appendices include some interesting population maps. (University of Leeds, Colombia University, United Nations Environment Programme)

Library of Congress

American Memory: African American History

Provides links to the five collections of materials in the Library of Congress detailing African American life and culture. Highlights include slave and other personal narratives, sheet music, sound recordings of the blues, pamphlets, and collections on Jackie Robinson, Fredrick Douglass, and Zora Neale Hurston. Rich source for primary resources. (Library of Congress)

African American Writers of the 19th Century

Use this link to find the works of great 19th century African American writers. Users can search by title, author, fiction, poetry, essays, and biographies. 

TransAtlantic Slave Trade Database

This site archives the names of different slave ships and documents the people aboard those ships.

Digital Innovation South Africa

A freely accessible online scholarly resource focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994.

Africana Conference Papers Index

Index to individual papers (West European languages) of the Africana conference proceedings held by Northwestern University Library.

African Bibliographic Databases

Use this site to search for bibliographies of: African women, Africana Periodical Literature, Kenya Coast, Islam in Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa, and Women Travelers, Explorers, and Missionaries to Africa.

African Newspapers Union List

Use this index of newspapers created by the Center for Research Libraries.

Umbra Home

UMBRA Search: African American History Digital Archive (created by the University of Minnesota)

Archival database searching through over 1,000 US archives, libraries, and museums presenting materials related to black history.

National Museum of African American History and Culture Collection

Explore over 37,000 materials in the Smithsonian museum's archive. Read through descriptions and view scanned images.